PBL 2020 to begin from January 20

Premier Badminton League (PBL) will start its fifth edition from January 20, 2020 and will continue till February 9 across four cities.

Kidambi Srikanth-led Bengaluru Raptors lifted the title last season.   -  PTI

The fifth edition of the Premier Badminton League (PBL) will start from January 20, 2020 and will continue till February 9.

The league owned by Badminton Association of India and organized by Sportzlive -- the official license holders under the aegis of BAI -- will be hosted this time in four cities -- Chennai, Delhi, Lucknow, and Bangalore.

“India’s prowess in badminton has been re-established once again as PV Sindhu became the first Indian to become the world champion. Sai Praneeth also brought a men’s singles medal after 36 years, signifying India’s stupendous development in the sport. The fifth season of PBL will give badminton lovers a priceless opportunity to watch these champions live,” said Himanta Biswa Sarma, president of BAI.

The league, which offers a total purse of Rs 6 crore, awarded the winner Bengaluru Raptors a prize money of Rs 3 crore in the previous edition as the PBL continues to spread wider footprints with every season.

READ: The bird has taken flight

“It is not only singles but the dynamics have now changed with superb performances from the young brigade like Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty. The two have put Indian doubles on the badminton map with their fearless display against world champions. PBL played a pivotal role in their emergence and it will be fantastic to see them weave their magic in front of home fans,” said Atul Pande, Managing Director, SportzLive.

With Star Sports as the official broadcaster and Hotstar livestreaming the league, the fifth season is all set to take India by storm for the 21 days of action.

The auction date will soon be announced soon.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :