BBL: Adelaide Strikers crowned champion

Riding on Jake Weatherald's century and Peter Siddle's exploits with the ball, Strikers beat Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs to be crowned champions.

Travis Head of Adelaide Strikers celebrates the wicket of Hobart Hurricanes' Tim Paine during the Big Bash League Final.   -  Getty Images

A scintillating century by Jake Weatherald and Peter Siddle's exploits with the ball helped Adelaide Strikers beat Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs and emerge victorious in a pulsating final of the Big Bash League at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday.

Batting first, Weatherald's made the difference as Strikers posted a mammoth 202/2 in its 20 overs. Chasing, Hurricanes could only manage 177/5 in its 20 overs with D'Arcy Short top-scoring with 68.

Weatherald punished the Hurricanes and scored 115 off just 70 balls. His knock included nine boundaries and eight sixes. Weatherald along with Travis Head (44 off 29 balls, 2 fours 1 six) added 140 runs for the second wicket. Colin Ingram chipped in with a useful 14 off just six balls as Strikers breached the 200-run mark.

With the required rate at more than 10 runs an over, Hurricanes needed to get off to a flyer but lost Tim Paine in the first over. Short and George Bailey added 81 runs for the second wicket but some tight bowling by Peter Siddle, who returned with figures of three for 17, kept the check on the Hurricanes. Short scored 44-ball 64, which included six fours and four sixes while Daniel Christian tried to take the match to the wire with his 19-ball 29, but his team lost steam in the end.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :