Ranji Trophy 2018-19: Aman’s maiden century puts Bihar in command against Mizoram

Bihar captain Ashutosh Aman fired a fine century to steer his side to 389/7 against Mizoram on day one of their Ranji Trophy 2018-19 clash on Sunday.

One team from the Plate Group will make the cut to the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 quarterfinals.   -  Getty Images

Skipper Ashutosh Aman led from the front with a maiden century as Bihar recovered from a top-order collapse to notch up a commanding 389 for seven against Mizoram in their Ranji Trophy Plate Group match here on Sunday.

Sent in to bat first, Bihar was tottering at 60 for four with Lalhruai Ralte (4/88) wreaking havoc but batting at no 8, Aman (108 not out), steered a recovery with M. D. Rahamatullah (99) by putting on 127 runs for the seventh wicket.

Rahamatullah missed his second successive century by one run after being run out by Mizoram skipper S Zorinliana.

But Aman remained calm at the other end to register his maiden first-class century and remained unbeaten on 108 from 157 balls.

As it happened: Ranji Trophy Round 8, Day 1

At stumps, Aman, who is the leading wicket-taker this season with 51 wickets from 10 innings at an average of 5.54, shared an unbroken 144-run partnership with Vivek Kumar (94 batting).

Second-placed Bihar is 10 points behind leader Uttarakhand with a match in hand in the Plate Group, from where one team will make the cut to the quarterfinals.

Meanwhile at the Nagaland Cricket Stadium in Dimapur, the host made a dominating start against Arunachal Pradesh taking a 17-run lead with all wickets intact on the opening day.

After bowling out Arunachal Pradesh for 135 inside 55 overs, Nagaland made an excellent start, reaching 152 for no loss with Paras Sehrawat (87 batting) and Sedezhalie Rupero (62 batting) at the crease.

Brief Scores:

In Dimapur: Arunachal Pradesh 135 all out in 54.3 overs (Pawan Suyal 4/28, Arbar Kazi 3/13) vs Nagaland 152 for no loss in 33 overs (Paras Sehrawat 87 batting, Sedezhalie Rupero 62 batting).

In Jorhat: Bihar 389 for 7 in 90 overs (Ashutosh Aman 108 batting, MD Rahmatullah 99; Lalhruai Ralte 4/88) vs Mizoram.

In Bhubaneswar: Sikkim 219 all out in 63 overs (Milind Kumar 117; Gurinder Singh) vs Meghalaya 101 for 2 in 27 overs (Raj Biswa 48 batting).

In Anantapur: Manipur 132 all out in 39.2 overs (Yashpal Singh 50; Pankaj Singh 4/32, Raiphi Gomez 4/58) vs Puducherry 150 for 2 in 47 overs (Sai Karthik 55, S Titus 42).


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :