Ranji Trophy 2018-19 LIVE: Quarterfinals, Day 5

Presenting all the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Quarterfinals, Day 5 live scores, updates, commentary and highlights from the matches being played across the country.

Updated : Jan 19, 2019 14:02 IST

Uttarakhand team celebrates the wicket of Vidarbha's R.R. Ramaswamy on Day 3.
Uttarakhand team celebrates the wicket of Vidarbha's R.R. Ramaswamy on Day 3.

Uttarakhand team celebrates the wicket of Vidarbha's R.R. Ramaswamy on Day 3.

Welcome to Sportstar 's live commentary of the fifth and final day of the quarterfinals of Ranji Trophy 2018-19.

Our reporters Amol Karkadkar (Nagpur) will be sending us periodic updates straight from the venue.


  • Saurashtra romps home by six wickets, will take on Karnataka in the semifinal.

  • Sheldon Jackson and Cheteshwar Pujara reach their respective half-centuries, Saurashtra 336/4!

  • Pujara and Jackson eating away at th deficit in a real hurry. Saurashtra needs 45 more to win with UP's hopes fast diminishing.

  • It's lunch on day five, with Saurashtra needing 74 more to win. Cheteshwar Pujara doing what he does best, anchoring the chase with an unbeaten 41. He has Sheldon Jackson for company.

  • Cheteshwar Pujara and Sheldon Jackson have steadied the ship after Harvik's dismissal. Saurashtra now 99 short of a place in the semis. UP's search for a breakthrough continues! Saurashtra is 273/4.

  • Harvik Desai departs after a well-made 116 as Saurashtra loses its fourth wicket for 237. C Pujara and Sheldon Jackson in the middle. Can UP pull a rabbit out of the hat here?

  • Game, set and match: Sarvate joins Umesh in picking a fifer and ends the game 37 minutes into the final day. It took Vidarbha 48 balls to wrap up the last five Uttarakhand wickets and set up a semifinal clash versus Kerala!

  • In the meantime, Saurashtra has lost its third wicket bringing Cheteshwar Pujara to the crease. Saurashtra is 222/3, needing another 150 to win.

  • Talk about being in shambles: "Umesh Yadav gets one to move back in and Deepak Dhapola can neither defend nor has enough time to see the ball uproot his middle and off-stump. Yadav completes a five-wicket haul and Vidarbha one wicket away from a win!"

  • "The first update of the last morning could well be the last. In six overs, Vidarbha has picked up two wickets for two runs in six overs, with Sarvate and Umesh picking one each. And as I type this, Mayank Mishra's heave results in him being bowled!"

  • And Sarvate isn't far behind! He grabs his fourth wicket as Uttarakhand continues to lose wickets in a heap. It is 158/8. Victory in sight for Vidarbha!

  • Meanwhile, Umesh Yadav has picked up a four-for to leave Uttarakhand reeling at 154/7 . Vidarbha now three wickets short of a semifinal berth!

  • Harvik Desai brings up his 100 as Saurashtra closes in on an emphatic win. Saurashtra 215/2 , needing another 157 to win.

  • GONE! An early morning breakthrough for Vidarbha as Malolan Rangarajan 2(6) is trapped in front by A A Sarvate. Uttarakhand is 154/6.

  • Saurashtra is 200/2, needing another 172 to win . H. Desai going strong on 88 and K Makwana batting on 4 at the other end.




- Karnataka won the toss and elected to field against Rajasthan.

- Gujarat won the toss and elected to field against Kerala.

- Uttar Pradesh won the toss and elected to bat against Saurashtra.

- Vidarbha won the toss and elected to bat against Uttarakhand.





Kerala:  Sachin Baby (captain), P. Rahul, Vinoop S. Manoharan, V. A. Jagadeesh, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Sanju Samson, Vishnu Vinod,  Sijomon Joseph, Sandeep Warrier, Basil Thampi, M. D. Nidheesh, Rohan Prem, Jalaj Saxena, K. Monish, Arun Karthik, Akshay Chandran and Abhishek Mohan.

Gujarat:  Parthiv Patel (captain), Kathan Patel, Priyank Panchal, Rujul Bhatt, Roosh Kalaria, Axar Patel, Chintan Gaja, Piyush Chawla, Arzan Nagwaswalla, Karan Patel, Siddharth Desai, Dhruv Raval, Parth Vaghani, Chirag Gandhi and Rahul Shah

Vidarbha:  Faiz Fazal (C), Ganesh Satish, Wasim Jaffer, Aditya Sarvate, Pawan Parnate (WK), Atharva Taide, Siddhesh Wath (WK), Akshay Wakhare, Akshay Wadkar (WK), Rajneesh Gurbani, R. Sanjay, Akshay Karnewar, Suniket Bingewar, Umesh Yadav, Yash Thakur, Mohit Kale, Akshay Kolhar

Uttarakhand:  Vineet Saxena (C), Malolan Rangarajan, Saurabh Rawat (WK), Sunny Rana, Sunny Kashyap, Vaibhav Bhatt, Vaibhav Panwar, Deepak Dhapola, Mayank Mishra, Dhanraj Sharma, Karanveer Kaushal, Kartik Joshi, Shivam Khurana (WK), Girish Katuri, Avneesh Sudha

Saurashtra: Snell Patel(w), Harvik Desai, Vishvaraj Jadeja, Sheldon Jackson, Aarpit Vasavada, Prerak Mankad, Cheteshwar Pujara, Chirag Jani, Kamlesh Makvana, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Jaydev Unadkat(c), Chetan Sakariya, Hardik Rathod, Jay Chauhan, Samarth Vyas, Agnivesh Ayachi

Uttar Pradesh: Akshdeep Nath(c), Upendra Yadav(w), Samarth Singh, Rinku Singh, Shivam Chaudhary, Umang Sharma, Priyam Garg, Saurabh Kumar, Ankit Rajpoot, Yash Dayal, Dhruv Pratap Singh, Imtiaz Ahmed, Mohammad Saif, Zeeshan Ansari, Madhav Kaushik, Shivam Mavi, Suresh Raina

Rajasthan:  Mahipal Lomror(c), Deepak Chahar, Rajesh Bishnoi Jr, Chetan Bist, Robin Bist, Rahul Chahar, Aniket Choudhary, Amitkumar Gautam, Arjit Gupta, Salman Khan, Manender Narender Singh, Ashok Menaria, Nathu Singh, Tajinder Singh, TM Ul-Haq

Karnataka: M Prasidh, B R Sharath (W), Shubhang Hegde, Karun Nair, Manish Pandey (C), Shreyas Gopal, Suchith J, Nischal D, Samarth R, Ronit More, Siddharth K V.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment