Longest winning streaks in ODI World Cup: Australia at top, India closing in with nine-game win run

Here is the list of longest winning streaks registered by a team in the 50-over World Cup.

Published : Nov 12, 2023 07:01 IST , CHENNAI - 3 MINS READ

 Australia celebrates its ICC World Cup 2007 victory.
Australia celebrates its ICC World Cup 2007 victory. | Photo Credit: Getty Images

Australia celebrates its ICC World Cup 2007 victory. | Photo Credit: Getty Images

India extended its winning streak in the World Cup 2023 after beating the Netherlands by 160 runs to win its ninth game on the trot at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday.

This is also the second-longest winning run registered by a team in a single edition of the quadrennial showpiece. Australia, in 2003 and 2007, won 11 games on the trot on its way to lifting the title.

FOLLOW LIVE | India vs Netherlands ICC ODI World Cup 2023

In 2015, New Zealand won eight games on the bounce before losing the final against Australia.

However, in terms of winning streaks across multiple editions of World Cups, no team holds a candle in front of Australia, which did not lose any game in the tournament between 1999 and 2011.

Here is the list of the longest unbeaten streaks in the tournament’s history:


The mighty Australia’s winning run stretches over four World Cup editions, three of them being won by the side.

Australia’s defeat to Pakistan in Leeds in 1999 was the side’s solitary reverse for more than a decade. It went onto win six and tie one game in 1999 before lifting the title under the leadership of Steve Waugh.

Ricky Ponting took over the reins and added to the success. The Aussies won nine 11 games on the trot in both 2003 and 2007 and became the first team to secure three consecutive World Cup titles.

Four years later, Australia went unbeaten for five games, with one match being washed out due to rain, before seeing its streak come to a halt with a loss against Pakistan.


India’s winning streak started under the leadership of M.S. Dhoni in 2011. India lost a closely-fought contest to South Africa by 3 wickets before winning the next four on its way to the World Cup trophy.

Four years later, India produced a string of seven wins in Australia. However, it was put to a stop by the host nation in the semifinals of the tournament.


The dominance of the Carribeans was on display during the first two editions of the World Cup. Then only an eight-team affair, two pools of four teams each were followed by the semifinals and the final.

In 1975, the inaugural World Cup, West Indies won all three group stage games, the semifinal and the summit clash. Clive Llyod’s team emulated the feat in the 1979 edition. However, one of its group games, against Sri Lanka, was washed out due to rain.

The side’s run ended on rather unexpected lines with the team going down to underdog India in the 1983 edition.


In 2015, the Kiwis emerged as one of the contenders for title. The campaign started with a thumping 98-run win over Sri Lanka.

But the Brendon McCullum’s side really stamped its class on the tournament when it got past co-host Australia with a nail-biting one-wicket victory.

Once in the knockouts, New Zealand beat West Indies by 143 runs in the last eight and South Africa by four wickets in the semifinals to extend its run to eight.

It all, however, came to an end with a heartbreaking loss at the hands of its Trans-Tasman rival, Australia.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment