India defeats Australia by 137 runs, retains Border-Gavaskar Trophy

India wrap a comprehensive win over Australia to take a 2-1 lead in the four-match India vs Australia series and retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Ravindra Jadeja snapped up three wickets to hasten Australia's slide.   -  AP

Good morning and welcome to Sportstar's live update coverage of the fifth day's play of the third Test between India and Australia.

India needed just 27 deliveries to wrap up the win. Jasprit brought an end to Pat Cummins' superb knock with an outswinger which took an edge to Pujara at first slip. Lyon then went for a pull off an Ishant Sharma bouncer which took an edge to Rishabh Pant. India has taken a 2-1 lead in the series and has retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with one Test to go. 

Play begins on the final day. India has 71 overs left to get the last two wickets.

UPDATE: The teams take an early lunch at 12.15pm AEDT. If there is no further rain, play will commence from 12.55pm AEDT.

Has Bumrah done enough in your opinion to pip Virat Kohli and Kuldeep Yadav for the Sportstar Aces 'Sportsman of the Year' (Cricket) award? Cast your vote here.

Jasprit Bumrah on day 3 helped India take control of this Test with a six-wicket haul. On his debut year in whites, he now has five-wicket hauls in South Africa, England and Australia — a feat achieved only by four other bowlers. Glenn McGrath, who did quite well for himself with 563 Test wickets during his time, said yesterday that he has "never seen anybody quite like Bumrah."

UPDATE: The covers are back on again... Light shower gives way to heavy rain now.

Pat Cummins has had a fantastic Test match so far with nine wickets with the ball and 78 runs with the bat. His fighting 61* has been a major source of frustration for the Indians after the 43-run ninth wicket partnership with Nathan Lyon (6*) in 14.1 overs. Will Virat Kohli turn to Jasprit Bumrah first up in a bid to wrap this up at the earliest?

UPDATE: Play will start at 5.30 am IST if there is no further rain.

The covers are on at the moment with some light rains on at the MCG. The Indian team will be chomping at the heels over the wait. We will bring you the latest on the start of play.


The visiting Indian side is all of two wickets away from sealing a stunning win here at Melbourne Park, while the Aussies need to score 141 runs to win. Who will emerge the victor?

How did the sides get to this position? Find out here.



Australia: Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine(wk-c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon and Josh Hazlewood.

India Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah.