After winning the second Test against Sri Lanka and going one-up in the Test series, the national selectors have rested India skipper Virat Kohli for the ODI series.

While Kohli will lead the side in the third Test in Delhi, he will be out of action when the two teams meet for the limited overs tournament.

Sportstar was the first to report about the possibility of Kohli being rested for the ODI series. This comes in after the India captain was vocal about the cramped scheduling of India's games ahead of the South Africa tour.

All-rounder Vijay Shankar continues to be with the team for the third Test with Hardik Pandya taking a break from the three match series. The selectors have handed maiden call ups for pacer Siddharth Kaul and batsman Shreyas Iyer for the ODIs, which will see Rohit Sharma donning the captain's hat.

The squad

India squad for the third Test:  Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-Captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar

India squad for the ODI series:  Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul.