Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Karun Nair excluded from Karnataka probables list

The experienced Karun Nair has endured a poor run of form in the last four seasons.

Published : Sep 27, 2022 21:47 IST

FILE PHOTO: Karun Nair in action.
FILE PHOTO: Karun Nair in action. | Photo Credit: M.A.SRIRAM

FILE PHOTO: Karun Nair in action. | Photo Credit: M.A.SRIRAM

Batter Karun Nair has been dropped from the probables list of the Karnataka team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT).

The experienced Nair has endured a poor run of form in the last four seasons. A regular fixture in the Karnataka side for nearly a decade now, Nair showed some signs of regaining his touch with a couple of good knocks in the Ranji Trophy and SMAT last season. The overall picture, however, was less than satisfactory.

Karnataka senior men’s chairman of selectors Fazal Khaleel stated that the time is right to give young talent a chance. “Yes, Karun has been dropped for this tournament. I feel for Karun, as he has been a regular member of the Karnataka team for many years now. However, it is time to move on and try out youngsters,” Khaleel told Sportstar on Tuesday.

Khaleel added that the door is not completely shut on Nair. “Karun is out of the T20 team, but there are two other formats (one-day and Ranji Trophy) to come. This is not the end of the road for him,” Khaleel said.

Khaleel stated that the likes of young batters L.R. Chethan and Rohan Patil have the talent to make a mark in the senior State team.

“This is the right time to see if young talent like Chethan and Rohan can deliver. We are in a transition phase, and our goal is to take Karnataka back to the glory years,” Khaleel said.

The probables:
Mayank Agarwal, Devdutt Padikkal, L.R. Chethan, Rohan Patil, Manish Pandey, Abhinav Manohar, R. Smaran, Luvnith Sisodia, B.R. Sharath, Nihal Ullal, K.Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Rishi Bopanna, Ritesh Bhatkal, J. Suchith, Shubhang Hegde, V. Koushik, V. Vyshak, Vidyadhar Patil, M. Venkatesh, Aditya Goyal, Manoj Bhandage, Vidwath Kaverappa, Nikin Jose, K.C. Cariappa
Coach: P.V. Shashikanth
Physiotherapist: Jaba Prabhu
Strength and Conditioning: K.C. Avinash
Manager: Anutosh Poll
Masseur: C.M. Somasundar
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment