Danny Marak elected unopposed president of Meghalaya Cricket Association

Conrad K Sangma and Naba Bhattacharjee, the erstwhile president and secretary, went into mandatory cooling off as per the new BCCI constitution.

Dhrubajyoti Thakuria became the treasurer of Meghalaya Cricket Association. (Representative Image)   -  GETTY IMAGES

Danny Marak, a retired bureaucrat, was elected unopposed as the president of Meghalaya Cricket Association.

At the state body’s annual general meeting in Shillong on Thursday, college lecturer Gideon Kharkongor was elected as secretary. Dhrubajyoti Thakuria became the treasurer as elections were held only for two posts.

Former secretary Naba Bhattacharjee and president Conrad K Sangma went into mandatory cooling off as per new BCCI constitution even though the north-eastern state became a full voting member only last year.

Sangma, who is also the chief minister of the state, too had to stay out as the Lodha Committee recommendations state that no minister can be part of any association.

Kharkongor, however, was excited about his new role. “Though I have been an administrator at the district level, I am honoured that the state association has given me a new responsibility. The focus will be to develop the game at the grassroots level,” Kharkongor told Sportstar.

Bhattacharjee, who was the face of North East cricket, said that the new office-bearers will receive all support from him.

Office Bearers:

President: Danny Marak

Vice President: Dipul Ryntathiang

Secretary: Gideon Kharkongor

Joint Secretary: Chiang D Shira

Treasurer: Dhrubajyoti Thakuria

Councillor: Arowtki Sumer.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :