Rupa Gurunath takes over as TNCA president

Rupa Gurunath’s was the only nomination filed for the post of TNCA president, whose election was announced on the floor of the house as per TNCA norms.

Rupa Gurunath, daughter of former BCCI president N. Srinivasan, was the only nomination for the post of the TNCA president.   -  Bijoy Ghosh

Breaking the glass ceiling, Rupa Gurunath became the first woman president of a BCCI State Association, here, on Thursday.

The 45-year-old Rupa, Whole Time Director, India Cements, was elected unopposed as the president of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA).

The 87th AGM of the TNCA was a swift, smooth affair and concluded in just an hour. All the candidates of the group supporting N. Srinivasan, the former ICC, BCCI and TNCA chief, were elected unopposed.

Srinivasan was present on the occasion as his daughter Rupa kept her date with history. The baton was passed.

Rupa said later, “I am happy to become the first woman president of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association. The TNCA has been a professionally run State association which has a long history and has been headed by eminent personalities.”

Immediate priorities

On the tasks ahead, she said, “My immediate priorities are to finalise the lease agreement [for the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium] with the government and to reopen the three stands.”

About keeping the game clean, Rupa observed, “Of course, TNCA has zero tolerance on corruption and will take appropriate action on any such issues.”

A former competitive golfer herself, Rupa said all encouragement would be given to cricketers. “We shall continue to provide all the necessary amenities and any other requirements for the players to perform at their best and improve their performances in all formats of the game,” she noted.

The new TNCA secretary R.S. Ramasaamy said, “I am extremely honoured to be elected to the post, for the first time from the districts. It is an office that has been held by illustrious members of the TNCA in the past and I shall strive to emulate the standards set by my predecessors.”

He added, “We shall work under our new president for the betterment of the game and all players.”

CAC formed

Importantly, former State cricketers B. Kalyanasundaram, T. Karunamoorty and Sumathi Hariharan Iyer were appointed to the newly formed Cricket Advisory Committee that will pick the State coaches and the selectors. Their term runs for three years.

Karunamoorty will give up his job as a member of the State senior selection committee.

Justice K. Kannan, retired judge of Punjab and Haryana Courts, has been named the ombudsman and Justice M. Jeyapaul, retired judge Madras High Court, will be the ethics officer.

The general body also nominated/appointed the following unanimously for the season 2019-2020:

The TNPL Governing Council: K. Shivakumar, Keshav Sriraman, P. Ilangovan, nominated member of ICA, nominated member of CAG, the office-bearers of the TNCA as ex-officio members, CEO.

Ombudsman: Justice K. Kannan (Retd. Judge of Punjab and Haryana).

Ethics Officer: Justice M. Jeyapaul, (Retd. Judge, Madras High Court).

Auditors: M/s. P.B. Vijayaraghavan & Co.

Cricket Advisory Committee for a term of three years (2019-20 to 2021-22): B. Kalyanasundaram, T. Karunamoorty, Sumathi Hariharan Aiyer

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :