The Asia Cup 2022 got off to a rocky start after Sri Lanka batter Pathum Nissanka’s dismissal by the third-umpire against Afghanistan courted controversy in Dubai on Saturday.
After losing two wickets in the first over, Sri Lanka landed a surprise jolt in the second when Nissanka (3) was adjudged caught behind by the wicketkeeper Rahmanullah Gurbaz off Naveen-ul-Haq’s bowling. The ball seemed to shape away from the batter before an appeal from Afghanistan was agreed upon by the on-field umpire, Anil Chaudhary.
Sri Lanka went up for a referral and in a surprise decision, the TV umpire Jayaraman Madanagopal declared Nissanka out despite no visible spike on the UltraEdge meter.
Sri Lanka was effectively reduced to five for three in two overs while several players were left stunned in its dugout after the decision.
- Sri Lanka Cricket issues clarification over Hasaranga, Chameera World Cup squad fuss
- Indian sports news wrap, November 24
- Premier League: Guardiola hopeful Haaland fit to play in top-two clash with Liverpool
- Premier League: Nkunku still out for Chelsea, says Pochettino
- Who will Argentina face in the FIFA Under-17 World Cup semifinal after win over Brazil?