Ajinkya Rahane will lead Mumbai's quest of bouncing back after a miserable Syed Mushtaq Ali (T20) Trophy campaign in 2020. Prithvi Shaw has been named Rahane's deputy for Mumbai's league stage of the season-opening tournament, scheduled to be played from November 4 in Guwahati.

With Rahane, India's Test vice-captain, being available, Shaw - who led Mumbai to a creditable Vijay Hazare Trophy triumph last season - was handed vice-captaincy. Besides, the squad also includes proven performers like internationals Shivam Dube and Dhawal Kulkarni; seasoned pros Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Lad and Sarfaraz Khan; and promising youngsters like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Armaan Jaffer, leggie Prashant Solanki and allrounder Atharva Ankolekar.

READ | Curtis Campher takes four wickets in four balls vs Netherlands in T20 World Cup

ALSO READ | T20 World Cup 2021: Bangladesh in must-win situation against Oman

The selection committee, headed by former India pacer Salil Ankola, has made whopping changes to the squad that had a forgettable outing in last year's T20 campaign. With Mumbai winning a solitary game from its five league encounters and finishing last in the group, the selectors have retained only 11 from last year's squad of 22.

Left-arm pacer Royston Dias, who was omitted last year despite being among the most consistent bowlers in the 2019-20 season, deservingly returns to the squad.

Meanwhile, former India hockey captain Viren Rasquinha, who is involved in Olympic athlete mentoring, interacted with Mumbai's squad during its preparatory camp on Monday.