TNPL player draft: 772 players in the fray

The order of picks for the first two rounds of the draft, which takes place on Thursday, will go from the highest bidder, Tuti Patriots, to the lowest bidder, Idream Karaikudi Kaalai.

"The TNPL has grown in stature over the past two seasons," says TNCA joint secretary R. I. Palani.

A total of 772 players will take part in the player draft on Thursday for the third season of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL), that gets underway on July 11.

The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) joint secretary R. I. Palani said the league has been doing exceptionally well. “The TNPL has grown in stature over the past two seasons both in quality as well as prominence with players being picked by Indian Premier League franchises,” he said.

Each of the eight teams has already retained three players while the order of picks for the first two rounds of the draft will go from the highest bidder, Tuti Patriots, to the lowest bidder, Idream Karaikudi Kaalai. The teams were allowed to retain one international, one domestic (two in case the team did not have an international player) and one uncapped player.

Read: Bharath Reddy to coach Seichem Madurai Panthers

The order will be Tuti Patriots followed by Chepauk Super Gillies, Lyca Kovai Kings, Panthers, Ruby Trichy Warriors, VB Thiruvallur Veerans, Dindigul Dragons and finally, Idream Karaikudi Kaalai.

The first three teams and Kaalai will have to pick two capped players in the first two rounds as all four teams had retained three uncapped players. Three out of the four remaining teams who retained two capped players will have to pick two uncapped players. Panthers will have to pick an uncapped in the first and a capped in the second since it had retained one capped and two uncapped.

The teams will keep an eye on the availability of international cricketers. For instance, Dinesh Karthik and Washington Sundar are a part of the India Twenty20 and ODI squads on the tour of England. The limited overs leg of the Indian campaign concludes on July 19.

Vijay Shankar will be in England with the ‘A’ team, a tour that culminates on July 19. R. Ashwin and M. Vijay could be available for the first two weeks of TNPL before they embark on the Test tour of England.

Abhinav Mukund, though, should be free for the entire tournament. Among these players, only Ashwin has been retained by Dindigul Dragons.


After two rounds, the teams will have two uncapped and three capped players and can pick any player from the third round onwards.

The minimum squad size is set at 18 with a mandatory two players who have represented the Districts and two players who are below the age of 19 as of Sept 1, 2018.

Player categories & price bracket:

Category A: Those who have represented senior National team – Rs 5 lakh/Rs 4 lakh/Rs 3 lakh

Category B: Rs 2.5 lakh/ Rs 2 lakh/ Rs 1.5 lakh (B1: Those who have played First-Class tournaments conducted by the BCCI (multi-day/One-Day/T20. B2: Those who have not played senior domestic tournaments conducted by the BCCI and those who have played more than 75 % of TNPL games for a team over the last two years).

Category C: Other players Rs 1 lakh/ Rs. 0.75 lakh/ 0.5 lakh.

The following players have been retained by the franchises: 


Subramanaian Anand (uncapped)

Akash Sumra (uncapped)

M Ganesh Moorthi (uncapped)


S Karthik (uncapped)

Alexander (uncapped)

U Sasidev (uncapped)


Rohith. R (uncapped)

Pradosh Ranjan Paul (uncapped)

Ajith Ram S (uncapped)


Arun Karthick K B (capped)

Chandran P (uncapped)

Karthikeyan R (uncapped)


Indrajith B (capped)

Bharath Shankar K (capped)

Vignesh K (uncapped)


Aparajith B (capped)

Silambarasan R (uncapped)

Sanjay Yadav R (capped)


Ashwin R (capped)

Jagadeesan N (capped)

Vivek R (uncapped)


Shajahan M (uncapped)

R Rajkumar (uncapped)

S Mohan Prasath (uncapped).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :