TNPL: Tuti Patriots defeats Kovai Kings

S. Dinesh stars for Patriots with a half-century as Kings’ spirited chase goes in vain.

S. Dinesh’s 59 helped Patriots put up 182 on the board, a total that would prove enough.   -  M. Vedhan

Lyca Kovai Kings put up a spirited display to chase down a target of 183 but fell short by 11 runs against Jones Tuti Patriots in their Sankar Cement-TNPL match here on Friday.

Kovai Kings’ skipper Abhinav Mukund, who got an early life as R. Sathish missed a return catch in the third over, made a steady start along with M. Shahrukh Khan as the Patriots’ bowlers kept a tight leash.

Wily left-arm spinner R. Sai Kishore struck in the final over of the PowerPlay as Shahrukh offered a return catch. Abhinav, who struggled to get going, mistimed a drive to mid-off to leave Kovai Kings at 48 for two in the eighth over.

Read - Kedar Jadhav: Will start playing in another two to three weeks

Patriots continued with its disciplined bowling and the asking rate continued to mount. Antony Dhas, who was promoted up the order, to give the innings the impetus failed to do so. Akkil Srinaath waged a lone battle, coming up with a few lusty blows, but was unlucky to step on to the stumps.

With 67 needed off the last five, wicketkeeper R. Rohit was the last hope.

His partnership of 41 from 20 balls with P. Rajesh was good but not enough to cross the finish line.

Productive partnership

Earlier, S. Dinesh’s half century (59), along with useful contributions from Akshay Srinivasan (45) and M. Kaushik Gandhi (43), helped Patriots reach 182.

Kaushik Gandhi, who scored a brilliant century against VB Kanchi Veerans, got able support from Dinesh as they took on the Kings bowling.

Playing aggressively, Dinesh brought up his fifty and Patriots’ hundred with a six in the 11th over.

The scores
  • Jones Tuti Patriots 182 in 20 overs (S. Dinesh 59, Kaushik Gandhi 43, Akshay Srinivasan 45, Natarajan two for 34, Ajith Ram two for 27, Rajesh two for 31) bt Lyca Kovai Kings 171 for eight in 20 overs (Akkil Srinaath 35, R. Rohith 25, Athisayaraj Davidson three for 35, Akash Sumra three for 32) by 11 runs.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :