Mumbai downs Delhi for third Vijay Hazare title

Catch the live updates from the 2018 Vijay Hazare Trophy final between Mumbai and Delhi.

Gautam Gambhir in action for Delhi in the semifinal match against Jharkhand.   -  PTI

Good morning, welcome to Sportstar's live coverage of the Vijay Hazare Trophy final between Mumbai and Delhi.

Live updates'

4:05pm: Mumbai wins by 4 wickets to take the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018/19! After a shaky start to a low target, Aditya Tare and Siddhesh Lad's 015-run partnership in the middle steadied Mumbai's ship and safely saw it past the finish line.

4:03pm Siddhesh Lad tries to finish it off in style and get his fifty, but he's caught at long-on. Mumbai only needs 2 runs to win.  The celebrations will have to wait for a few more minutes.

3:46pm OUT! Finally a breakthrough for Delhi. Aditya Tare departs for 71 after Manan Sharma traps him in front of the stumps with a wrong one. Mumbai 145/5. 

3:25pm Mumbai's task seems to be getting easier by the over as Aditya Tare gets to 50 off 62 balls, after being let off the hook twice by third umpire decisions. Mumbai needs only 49 more runs to win with six wickets in hand and 23 overs left.

3:07pm Once again, the third umpire says NOT OUT! The Delhi players, especially the bowler Subodh Bhati, are in disbelief as Tare gets another life.

3:06 It's a long wait for a decision. The TV replays have been to give any conclusive details yet.

3:03pm Tare was out of his crease when the ball hit the stumps, but the question to be answered is whether the bowler got his foot to the ball as Lad struck it down the pitch.

2:49pm The decision is NOT OUT! Replays show the ball bounced into the keeper's gloves. Delhi thought it had made a breakthrough, but Tare and Lad are looking strong.

2:46pm Tare gets a thick edge off Bhati and is caught behind. The umpires have referred upstairs to check if the catch was cleanly taken. The soft signal is out.

2:37pm Aditya Tare brings up the fifty-run partnership with Siddesh Lad, pulling Khejroliya over mid- wicket for a six.

2:25pm Siddhesh Lad and Aditya Tare have taken on the bowling and steadied Mumbai's ship. After 14 overs, 74/4.

2:03pm Aditya Tare brings up Mumbai's 50, it is now 53/4 after nine overs.

1:55pm OUT! Shreyas Iyer had been living dangerously and, this time, he gets an outside edge and is caught behind by Unmukt Chand, off the bowling of Kulwant Khejroliya. Mumbai is 40/4, chasing 178, and Aditya Tare has walked in to bat. Iyer is out for 7.

1:48pm Siddesh Lad has a reprieve! He uppishly drove at a Navdeep Saini delivery and was caught at point, but the bowler overstepped and, after review, the umpire signals no-ball. 

1:41pm OUT! Navdeep Saini has his and Delhi's third wicket, dismissing Suryakumar Yadav on the third delivery he faced. Mumbai reduced to 25/3 and we have a potential humdinger in our hands! Siddesh Lad is the new batsman in the middle.

1:35pm Ajinkya Rahane falls for 10, Mumbai 21/2, chasing 178. He is trapped plumb in front of his stumps by Navdeep Saini. Suryakumar Yadav is the new batsman in the middle.

1:16pm  Four, four and then a wicket! Navdeep Saini strikes timber, removes Prithvi Shaw for eight. Shreyas Iyer is the new batsman in.

1:15pm Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane open the innings for Mumbai, which needs 178 runs to lift the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

12:54 Delhi has been restricted to 177/9 by Mumbai, Pawan Negi retired hurt after getting hit on his right hand and didn't return to bat. Mumbai needs 178 runs to lift the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

12:14 In trying to play another big shot, this time off the bowling of Tushar Deshpandey, Subodh Bhati miscues to mid-off. He has a reprieve, though, courtesy Deshpandey overstepping.

12:10 Subodh Bhati brings up 150 for Delhi with a six over long-on. Delhi still has 57 balls left in the innings.

12:00 OUT! Shivam Dubey is brought back into the attack and provides Mumbai the seventh wicket, dismissing the well-set Himmat Singh for 41. Delhi slips to 141/7 and now struggling to bat out the 50 overs. Navdeep Saini is the new batsman in.

11:53am Bad news for Delhi, with Pawan Negi walking off with an injured right hand, having copped a blow from Tushar Deshpandey. This comes at a time when the innings was gathering momentum with the 40-run partnership for the seventh wicket between Negi and Himmat Singh. Dehi is 140/6 in the 38th over, with Subodh Bhati joining Himmat Singh in the middle.

11:37am Delhi is 134/6 after 35 overs, Pawan Negi and Himmat Singh have added 34 runs in the last five overs, with Mumbai striving for another breakthrough.

11:12am OUT! Lalit Yadav is out, caught behind for 6 off the bowling of Dhawal Kulkarni. Delhi slips to 100/6 in the 30th over.

10:53am At the halfway point of its innings, Delhi has lost half the side for 81. Dhruv Shorey is the latest to be dismissed, he's stumped for 31 off the bowling of  S. Z. Mulani.

10:29am Shivam Dubey breaks the partnership between Nitish Rana and Dhruv Shorey, dismisses Rana for 13 with a well-directed short delivery. Delhi reduced to 60/4 in the 20th over.

10:09am Delhi is 47/3 after 15 over. Dhruv Shorey and Nitish Rana have put on 26 runs so far, for the fourth wicket.

9:47am The powerplay produces only 25 runs for Delhi for the loss of Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand and Manan Sharma. Mumbai couldn't have asked for a better start having chosen to field first after winning the toss.

9:27am OUT! Delhi is 21/3, Manan Sharma the latest to be dismissed, he becomes Tushar Deshpandey's second wicket. Manan is caught behind for 5. Nitish Rana joins Dhruv Shorey and Delhi has two new batsmen in the middle.

9:22am Unmukt Chand is dismissed for 13, in very much the same fashion he was in the semifinal, caught at point by Ajinkya Rahane off the bowling of Dhawal Kulkarni. Delhi 17/2 after five overs. Dhruv Shorey joins Manan Sharma in the middle.

9:07am OUT! Gautam Gambhir flashes at a wide delivery from Tushar Deshpandey and the ball carries comfortably to the third-man fielder, Prithvi Shaw laps it up. Delhi 2/1 in the second over.

9:00am Gautam Gambhir and Unmukt Chand are the openers for Delhi, Dhawal Kulkarni to bowl the first over for Mumbai.

Toss update: Mumbai has won the toss and chosen to field first.


Mumbai playing XI: Shreyas Iyer (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Aditya Tare (wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Siddesh Lad, Prithvi Shaw, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shivam Dube, Royston H. Dias, S. Z. Mulani, Tushar Despande

Delhi playing XI: Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand (wk), Nitish Rana, Himmat Singh, Dhruv Shorey, Subodh Bhati, Lalit Yadav, Manan Sharma, Kulwant Khejroliya, Navdeep Saini, Pawan Negi