Chennai City only I-League club to be granted AFC, National License for new season

Among the six clubs which were granted license with sanctions included Chennai City - which was the only I-League club.

Published : Oct 10, 2019 23:56 IST

Chennai City FC is the defending I-League champion.
Chennai City FC is the defending I-League champion.

Chennai City FC is the defending I-League champion.

Reigning I-League champion Chennai City FC is among a handful--and the only I-League club--that has been granted both AFC and National License for the 2019-20 season by the the All-India Football Federation Club Licensing Committee-First Instance Body (CLC-FIB) that met in New Delhi on Thursday to decide on the club licensing applications.

Nineteen clubs including several I-League and ISL clubs had applied, out of which six were granted license with sanctions. Those include Chennai City, Chennaiyin FC, Bengaluru FC, Jamshedpur FC, FC Goa and ATK.

In a tweet, Rohit Rangarajan, owner of CCFC said: "Delighted that @ChennaiCity FC have been granted both AFC and National License for the 2019-20 season. I'd like to personally thank my entire supporting staff, management and every individual involved with us!"



What are the Indian Club Licensing Regulations?

AIFF under the approval of Asian Football Confederation, runs the Indian Club Licensing system for all top division league clubs in India, using the AFC’s online club licensing portal – AFC CLAS.

Under the Indian Club Licensing system, AIFF has the authority to issue AFC License for AFC Club Competitions such as AFC Champions League and AFC Cup, and National License for National Club Competitions like I-League, Indian Super League and Super Cup.

Without an AFC License, a club cannot participate in AFC Club Competitions, despite qualifying for the respective competitions on sporting merit. However, without a National License, a club may still be able to participate in National Club Competitions, provided an “EXEMPTION TO PARTICIPATE in National Club Competitions” is received under the regulatory provisions provided in Indian Club Licensing Regulations 2019-20.



Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment