Indian Super League organisers on Friday announced an increase in the prize money of 'Shield Winners' by Rs 3 crore starting from the upcoming season, while reducing the amount handed to the ISL champions.

The League Winners Shield, introduced in 2019-20 season conferred to table toppers, was presented with Rs 50 lakh in the last two seasons. As part of the ISL prize money reallocation, Football Sports Development (FSDL) has now allocated Rs 3.5 crore to the League Winners.

The ISL champions - winner of the final - will now get Rs 6 crore (previously Rs 8 crore), while the runners-up will get Rs 3 crore (previously Rs 4 crore). The other two semi-finalists will continue to receive Rs 1.5 crore each. The total prize money pool for ISL 2021-22 remains Rs 15.5 crore.

Listen in to our season preview on a new episode of The Full Time Show:

The League Winners are also rewarded with the highest honour to represent India in Asia's showpiece club football competition - the AFC Champions League.

ALSO READ | FIFA plans to postpone Club World Cup until 2022

FC Goa was its inaugural winners in 2019-20. Mumbai City FC are its current holders, having completed the 'double' along with winning their maiden ISL trophy in 2020-21.

If the Shield Winners go on to win the ISL championship, they would pocket Rs 9.5 crore (Rs 3.5 crore + Rs 6 crore). If it finishes runners-up in the ISL final, the Shield Winners will earn Rs 6.5 crore (Rs 3.5 crore + Rs 3 crore).