Classic Golf and Country Club: Rory Hie wins maiden pro title; India's Rashid joint second

The hat-trick of birdies from the 13th hole firmly placed Ror Hie beyond the reach of second-placed Rashid Khan and Korea’s Byungjun Kim.

Rory Hie was the sole leader after every round.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Completing a wire-to-wire domination, Indonesia’s Rory Hie deservedly won the $300,000 Classic Golf and Country Club International Championship here on Sunday.

Hie’s maiden professional title came following his impressive tally of 21-under 267 that gave him a two-shot winning margin. The highlight of his final-round four-under 68 was the hat-trick of birdies from the 13th hole that firmly placed him beyond the reach of second-placed Rashid Khan and Korea’s Byungjun Kim.

“It was always my dream to walk up the 18th green with a two-shot lead and that’s what happened,” said Hie after ending a 11-year wait for his first title as a professional.

Hie, sole leader after every round, collected $54,000 and the winner’s trophy. After becoming the first Indonesian winner on the Asian Tour, Hie said, “This win will also open a lot of doors. Coming here, I wasn’t sure of what I would be doing next. but I guess this makes things a lot easier for me now,” said the 31-year-old.

Rashid Khan, who caught with Hie at 18-under after the fifth hole fell back by shots after his bogey on the 15th was met by a birdie by the eventual champion. It was his final-hole birdie that saw him climb to the joint second place with a round of 69. Byungjun Kim, who shared the lead at 18-under with Hie and Rashid after 10 holes, could not come up with a strong finish. Rashid and Kim received $25,950 each.

The strongest finish of the round came from young Aadil Bedi who fired birdies on the last five holes! He carded a 66 to take to the fourth spot, worth $15,000.

The scores (Indians unless stated)

267 - Rory Hie (Ina) (64, 68, 67, 68); 269 - Byungjun Kim (Kor) (69, 66, 67, 67), Rashid Khan (68, 66, 66, 69); 270 - Aadil Bedi (67, 68, 69, 66); 272 - Aman Raj (67, 67, 72, 66), Kwanchai Tannin (Tha) (66, 72, 68, 66), Suttijet Koorantanapisan (Tha) (70, 72, 63, 67) and Abhijit Chadha (68, 65, 68, 71).


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :