Aiming to win at least one match

Scotland, ranked No. 14 in One-Day Internationals, qualified for the World Cup for the third time following a dramatic three-wicket victory with three balls to spare against Kenya on the final day (January 30) of the Super Sixes tournament at Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

Riding on the back of an impressive knock by Rob Taylor who, batting at No. 8, struck 46 off 37 balls, Scotland qualified for its first World Cup since 2007. Captain Preston Mommsen made a huge impact with a counter-attacking half-century (78 off 97 balls) to guide his team to victory in the decider.

The four playing for Northamptonshire, batsman and vice-captain Kyle Coetzer, free-stroking Calum MacLeod, fast bowler Iain Wardlaw and the most-capped player and all-rounder, Majid Haq, would be the key men for Scotland at the World Cup.

Interestingly, the Scottish expatriates in Dunedin and Hobart would lend their lungpower to inspire their national team when it plays there.

“It is absolutely awesome, we have worked really hard to get to this position and to actually get over the line is unbelievable. The feeling is immense,” Mommsen was quoted as saying after the game.

The captain added that it is a real honour to lead Scotland, and that his team is a close-knit unit capable of scripting a piece of history.

“Scotland hasn’t won a game in a World Cup before, so that’s something we’re targeting,” said the team’s assistant coach Craig Wright. “The team have set out the goal over the next few years to become the best-ever Scottish team, so putting in some good performances and getting a couple of wins would set us on the way to achieving that goal,” he added.

Importantly, one of best one-day cricketers from England, Paul Collingwood, will play a major role in the fortunes of Scotland as a member of the coaching staff.

* * * THE TEAM

Preston Mommsen (captain), Kyle Coetzer, Richie Berrington, Freddie Coleman, Matthew Cross (Wicketkeeper), Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Hamish Gardiner, Majid Haq, Michael Leask, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor and Iain Wardlaw.

V. V. Subrahmanyam