MotoGP Raceweek: Rins wins in Texas after Marquez exit

Marc Marquez missed out on a seventh straight triumph at the Grand Prix of the Americas, allowing Alex Rins to break his MotoGP duck.

Published : Apr 15, 2019 09:45 IST

Alex Rins capitalised on Marc Marquez crashing out to claim his maiden MotoGP win at the Grand Prix of the Americas.

Marquez appeared set to continue his dominance in Austin, only for a seventh straight triumph to slip away when his race came to a premature end on lap nine.

Having started from pole position, the Spaniard was nearly four seconds ahead when he lost control of his Repsol Honda at turn 12, opening the door for the rest of the field.

Valentino Rossi was immediately promoted to first place and the Italian remained out in front until Rins made his move with four laps remaining.

His decision to dive on the inside paid off as he passed the Yamaha, Rossi's attempts to reply only creating the opportunity for the new leader to move clear of his nearest rival.

"He was my idol when I was very young," the talented 23-year-old from Barcelona told BT Sport after his battle with Rossi. "This is an incredible feeling."

Jack Miller finished in third and, while Andrea Dovizioso missed out on the podium, a fourth-place finish allowed him to take over at the top of the overall standings after three races.

Franco Morbidelli and Danilo Petrucci were fifth and sixth respectively, ahead of rookie Fabio Quartararo, Pol Espargaro and Francesco Bagnaia.

Takaaki Nakagami rounded out the top 10 but fellow Honda rider Jorge Lorenzo failed to finish, a mechanical problem ending his hopes of picking up any points during his time in Texas.


1. Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar)
2. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha) +0.462secs
3. Jack Miller (Alma Pramac Racing) +8.454s
4. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) +9.420s
5. Franco Morbidelli (Movistar Yamaha) +18.021s
6. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) +21.476s
7. Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha) +26.111s
8. Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) +29.743s
9. Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Racing) +30.608s
10. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda) +31.011s
11. Maverick Vinales (Monster Energy Yamaha) +34.077s
12. Andrea Iannone (Aprilia) +34.779s
13. Johann Zarco (KTM) +42.458s
14. Miguel Oliveira (KTM) +44.272s
15. Tito Rabat (Ducati) +44.623s


1. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) 54
2. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha)  51 (-3)
3. Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) 49 (-5)
4. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) 45 (-11)
5. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) 30 (-15)

1. Ducati 84
2. Monster Energy Yamaha 65 (-19)
3. Suzuki Ecstar 57 (-27)
4. Repsol Honda 52 (-32)
5. LCR Honda 41 (-43)

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment