JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing C'ship: Raghul, Vishnu share honours

Best buddies Raghul Rangasamy and Vishnu Prasad won a race each in the popular Formula LGB4 class in the 22nd JK Tyre FMSCI National racing championship at the Kari Motor Speedway.

Raghul Rangasamy and Vishnu Prasad from Chennai are best buddies off the track but, on it, they fight like bitter enemies. And, that added some spice to the opening round of the 22nd JK Tyre FMSCI National racing championship at the Kari Motor Speedway in Chettipalayam here on Sunday.

After lots of drama, the duo, representing MSport, was pleased having won a race each in the popular Formula LGB4 class. It was Raghul who stole the thunder in the first race of the day, and Vishnu finished on top in the second race to make it a memorable outing for their team (MSport).

There was some post-race drama as well, with Vishnu first being dislodged from the top before being reinstated again after a series of protests.

The JK Tyre Novice Cup also witnessed some heated off-the-track action. Bengaluru’s Chirag Ghorpade (Momentum Motorsports), who scored a double the other day, found the chequered flag yet again only to find that he had made a jump start. He was penalised by 10 seconds and that saw him slide all the way down to the eighth position.

Mohamed Ryan (MSport, Chennai), who finished second, was declared the winner.

A new category for women was also introduced, celebrating the best racer in the LGB4 bunch. Vadodara’s Mira Erda (MSport) grabbed the honours by finishing ahead of all the women in each of the races.

The results (provisional):

Formula LGB4 (Race 2): 1. Raghul Rangasamy (MSport) 18:28.329; 2. Vishnu Prasad (MSport) 18:31.673; 3. A. Sandeep Kumar (Dark Don) 18:32.848. Race 3: 1. Vishnu Prasad 20:02.742; 2. Raghul Rangasamy 20:02.810; 3. Ashwin Datta (Dark Don Racing) 20:05.316.

JK Tyre Novice Cup (Race 3): 1. Mohamed Ryan (MSport) 23:44.056; 2. Aaroh Ravindra (Momentum Motorsports) 23:47.212; 3. Mihir Avalakki (Birel Art) 23:47.330.

JK Tyre Suzuki Gixxer Cup: 1. Syed Muzammil Ali 14:19.609; 2. Tanay Gaikwad 14:25.458; 3. Sidharth Sajan 14:27.480.

JK Tyre Redbull Road to Rookies : 1. Ikshan Shanbag; 2. Prashanth R 3. Aryan Gurav 14:35.073.

JK Tyre Women's category (Formula LGB4) : 1. Mira Erda (MSport); 2. Mega K.S (Ahura Racing); 3. Diana Pundole (Ahura Racing).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :