ISSF World Cup Final: Manu Bhaker, Elavenil Valarivan, Divyansh Panwar win gold

While Manu Bhaker shattered the junior World Record with a score of 244.7, Elavenil ended up bagging gold, courtesy a margin of just 0.1 points.

Manu Bhaker, Divyansh Singh Panwar and Elavenil Valarivan who won the gold medals in the World Cup Finals in China on Thursday.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Shooting sensations Manu Bhaker, Elavenil Valarivan and Divyansh Singh Panwar, on Thursday, bagged their maiden ISSF World Cup Final gold medals in women's 10m Air Pistol , 10m Air Rifle and men's 10m Air Rifle respectively, at the Chinese Shooting and Archery Administration Center in Putian, China.

Elavenil bettered her Qualification ranking to finish at the top of the leaderboard with 250.8 points, pipping Chinese Taipei's Lin Ying-Shin by 0.1 points. Romania's Laura-Georgeta Coman won bronze.

The 20-year-old Cuddalore born shooter remained at the top throughout the Elimination round, only to give the onlookers a scare, after she scored a 9.4 in her penultimate shot. However, the initial gap proved to be too much for Ying-Shin to overcome, even though she shot a 10.6 and a 10.8 off her last two chances.

India's Mehuli Ghosh, participating in the same event, went down fighting, to settle for the sixth place.

ISSF World Cup - As it happened

Panwar, India's sole entry in men's 10m Air Rifle, outfoxed Hungary's shooting star Peni Istvan, capitalising on an early lead, to win by 0.1 points in the final.

Earlier, Manu shattered the junior World Record with a final score of 244.7, becoming the second Indian to finish top in the event in a World Cup Final after Heena Sidhu in 2013.

Compatriot Yashaswini Singh Deswal, however, missed out on a podium finish, finishing sixth. While Serbia’s Zorana Arunovic won the silver with 241.9, Quian Wang of China bagged the bronze with 221.8.

In the men’s 10m air pistol event, Abhishek Verma and Saurabh Chaudhary, who qualified for the final, finished fifth and sixth, respectively.

Shahzar Rizvi, also participating in the 10m Air Pistol event, was knocked out during the Qualification round after he finished with 577.

The results


10m air rifle: 1. Divyansh Singh Panwar 250.1 (627.1); 2. Istvan Peni (Hun) 250.0 (627.4); 3. Patrik Jany (Svk) 228.4 (626.8).

10m air pistol: 1. Pang Wei (Chn) 243.7 (587); 2. Park Daehun (Kor) 241.7 (585); 3. Artem Chernousov (Rus) 220.6 (583); 5. Abhishek Verma 179.4 (588); 6. Saurabh Chaudhary 159.8 (581).


10m air rifle: 1. Elavenil Valarivan 250.8 (631.1); 2. Ying-Shin LIn (Tpe) 250.7 (632.3); 3. Laura-Georgeta Coman (Rou) 229.0 (629.3); 6. Mehuli Ghosh 163.8 (629.3); 13. Anjum Moudgil 624.9; 15. Apurvi Chandela 622.7.

10m air pistol: 1. Manu Bhaker 244.7 (WRJ) 578; 2. Zorana Zrunovic (Srb) 241.9 (581); 3. Wang Qian (Chn) 221.8 (583); 6. Yashaswini Singh Deswal 158.8 (578).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :