National Shooting C'ships: Adarsh stuns Bhanwala to take rapid fire gold

Adarsh Singh finished with a score of 30 points in the final series to turn the tables on the Commonwealth Games gold-medallist, Anish Bhanwala.

15-year-old Anish Bhanwala created history by clinching gold medal in 25m Rapid Pistol event at Commonwealth Games 2018. (file photo)   -  AFP

Adarsh Singh (Haryana) caused a major upset as he stunned his team-mate and fancied Anish Bhanwala to take the gold medal in the 25m rapid fire pistol event of the 62nd National Shooting Championships at the Vattiyoorkavu National Games ranges on Saturday.

Adarsh, also an international shooter but at the junior level, finished with a score of 30 points in the final series turning the tables on Anish, the Gold Coast CWG champion, by just a single point. However, Anish was quick with his retort as he won the juniors title at the expense of Adarsh, again with a difference of one point. Anish herein finished with a card of 33.

The results


25m rapid fire pistol: 1. Adarsh Singh (Har) 570 (30), 2. Anish Bhanwala 557 (29), 3. Vijay Kumar (Har) 573 (24)

Team: 1. Haryana 1719, 2. Maharashtra 1673 (41), 2. Army Marksmanship Unit 1673 (37)


25m rapid fire pistol: 1. Anish Bhanwala (Har) 577 (33), 2. Adarsh Singh (Har) 570 (32), 3. Harshwardhan Mahanand Yadav (Mah) 566 (25)

Team: 1. Haryana 1682, 2. Punjab 1667, 3. Maharashtra 1653

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :