National shooting: Divyansh Singh Powar sweeps honours

Divyansh Singh Powar swept the honours in three events, while Yashaswini Singh Deswal finished first in the women's 25-metre sports pistol.

Tejaswini Sawant (in picture) won the gold medal in the women's 50m rifle prone event.   -  AFP

Divyansh Singh Panwar dominated the air rifle as he swept the honours in three events in the third National shooting selection trials at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad, on Sunday.

The 16-year-old Divyansh, who was part of the Indian team in the recent World Cup along with Deepak Kumar and Ravi Kumar at the same venue, won the men’s final and topped in the junior and youth sections as well.

It was a spectacular finish for Divyansh as he closed the 24-shot final with a perfect 10.9 on the last shot to beat Kiran Jadhav by 1.6 point.

Read: Arpit pips Adarsh in shoot-off, Tejaswini beats Moudgil

Olympian Chain Singh took the third place ahead of Sandeep Singh, Saurabh Singh, Deepak Kumar, Pratik Borse and Bibabswan Ganguly.

Deepak topped the qualification with 627.2, but finished sixth.

In women’s 25-metre sports pistol, Yashaswini Singh Deswal finished first, two points ahead of Gauri Sheoran. Qualification topper Shreya Gawande (582) placed fourth behind Chinki Yadav, who had 581 in qualification.

Olympian Annu Raj Singh, Anisa Sayyed, Pushpanjali Rana and Aakanksha Bansal were the others to make the final.

In women’s 50-metre rifle prone event, former world champion Tejaswini Sawant continued to assert her mastery as she topped the fourth trial with 622.7, three points ahead of Anjum Moudgil, the World Championship silver medallist in air rifle. Gaayathri Nithyanandam managed to pip Kuheli Gangulee by 0.5 point for the third place.


10m air rifle: Men: 1. Divyansh Singh Panwar 250.4 (626.9); 2. Kiran Jadhav 248.8 (626.6); 3. Chain Singh 227.9 (625.2).

Junior men: 1. Divyansh Singh Panwar 626.9; 2. Shuvam Basu 624.0; 3. Pawan Vijay Andhare 622.9.

Youth men: 1. Divyansh Singh Panwar 626.9; 2. Pawan Vijay Andhare 622.9; 3. Arjun 617.9.

25m sports pistol: Women: 1. Yashaswini Singh 32 (574); 2. Gauri Sheoran 30 (570); 3. Chinki Yadav 25 (581).

Junior women: 1. Suhana Sehrawat 564; 2. Sachi Bansal 522; 3. Kasturi Gore 511.

50m rifle prone: Women: 1. Tejaswini Sawant 622.7; 2. Anjum Moudgil
619.7; 3. Gaayathri Nithyanandam 618.7.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :