National Shotgun C’ship: Mohd Asab wins double trap gold

Reigning world champion Ankur Mittal takes bronze.

File Photo: Mohd Asab (in picture) shot 134 to beat Ahvar Rizvi by one point.   -  Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

Mohd Asab and Ahvar Rizvi pipped the reigning world champion Ankur Mittal to win the men’s gold and silver in double trap at the 62nd National Shotgun championship at JDA Range on Sunday.

Asab shot 134 to beat Ahvar by one point, while Ankur shot 128, following poor scores of 23 and 24 in the second and fifth rounds, respectively. No finals were held as the event has been taken off the Olympic schedule.

Read: Anjum Moudgil outwits Tejaswini Sawant to retain 3P gold

Former Asian Games gold medallist Ronjan Sodhi was sixth with 126, while the reigning Asian Games silver medallist the 15-year-old Shardul Vihan shot 120 for the ninth place.

Ahvar Rizvi won the junior title, beating Shardul by 13 points. Prabsukhman Kaur and Pravjot Kaur Panesar of Punjab won the women’s and junior women’s titles, respectively. Yadavendra Singh of Haryana shot 91 and beat D. V. Seetharama Rao, the secretary general of the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI), by three points for the veterans gold.

The results
  • Double trap
  • Men: 1. Mohd. Asab 134; 2. Ahvar Rizvi 133; 3. Ankur Mittal 129.
  • Junior men: 1. Ahvar Rizvi 133; 2. Shardul Vihan 120; 3. Vinay Pratap Singh 118.
  • Women: 1. Prabsukhman Kaur 84; 2. Shalini Yashwant 75; 3. Anam Basit 73.
  • Junior women: 1. Pravjot Kaur Panesar 66; 2. Anushka Singh Bhati 64; 3. Hitasha 60.
  • Veterans: 1. Yadavendra Singh 91; 2. D. V. Seetharama Rao 88; 3. Mohd. Yaqoob 78.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :