National shotgun selection trial: Vivaan Kapoor takes top spot

Vivaan Kapoor emerges as the No. 1 in the men’s and junior categories.

File Photo: Vivaan Kapoor (in picture) beat former world champion Manavjit Singh Sandhu 44-42 in the men’s final.   -  ISSF

The irrepressible Vivaan Kapoor took the honours in the men’s and junior categories in trap, in the second National shotgun selection trial at the OASIS range here on Tuesday. Vivaan beat former world champion Manavjit Singh Sandhu 44-42 in the men’s final, after having qualified in the fourth place with a total of 119.

Prithviraj Tondaiman, who has been heading the averages from the last trial and the National championship, shot 121 in qualification, the same as Manavjit Sandhu. He pipped the latter 22-21 in the shoot-off to get the No. 1 spot. Zoravar Singh Sandu, Vishwa Kundu and Aakash Kushwaha were the others to make the final.

Narrow miss

Lakshay Sheoran, the Asian Games silver medallist, and Anirudh Singh, the former national champion, shot 116 and missed the final by one point, along with Rayyan Rizvi. Kynan Chenai, the Olympian, and Manavaditya Rathore, the Khelo India Youth Games champion, shot 115.

Vivaan beat Manavaditya Rathore 3-2 in the shoot-off to emerge the junior winner, after the two tallied 45 in the final.

Qualification topper Viswa Kundu (120) placed sixth. Aman Ali Elahi who won the shoot-off against Bhowneesh Mendiratta after being tied on 110 for the sixth spot in the final, eventually took the third place.

Top spot for Shagun

In the women’s category, Shagun Chowdhary pipped Rajeshwari Kumari 38-37, after having topped qualification with 115.

Manisha Keer settled for the third place in both the women’s and junior categories.

The results
  • Trap
  • Men: 1. Vivaan Kapoor 44 (119); 2. Manavjit Singh Sandhu 42 (121); 3. Prithviraj Tondaiman 34 (121).
  • Junior men: 1. Vivaan Kapoor 45(3) 119; 2. Manavaditya Rathore 45(2) 115; 3. Aman Ali Elahi 33 (110).
  • Women: 1. Shagun Chowdhary 38 (115); 2. Rajeshwari Kumari 37 (112); 3. Manisha Keer 29 (106).
  • Junior women: 1. Kirti Gupta 40 (99); 2. Kiran 36 (96); 3. Manisha Keer 26 (106).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :