Commonwealth Table Tennis: Unbeaten Indians cruise into semis

Despite rotating players, both the men's and women's teams didn’t drop a match on Thursday as they reached the semifinal of the Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship.

Published : Jul 18, 2019 21:53 IST , CUTTACK

Madhurika Patkar won her match against Charlotte Carey in the first tie against Wales.
Madhurika Patkar won her match against Charlotte Carey in the first tie against Wales.

Madhurika Patkar won her match against Charlotte Carey in the first tie against Wales.

India’s men and women paddlers continued their unbeaten run to sail into the semifinals by topping their respective groups in the Super Eights of the 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship here on Thursday.

Taking into consideration Wednesday’s medal rounds and the individual events to follow, both the men and women’s teams gave opportunity to each of the five players in the squad. Despite rotating players, the teams didn’t drop a match on Thursday. The men sailed past Sri Lanka, Malaysia and Wales with an identical scoreline of 3-0.

READ | Four countries in four days: Anna Hursey's TT journey

Similarly, the women too rotated players and maintained a clean slate against Wales, Malaysia and Nigeria. Manika Batra and Madhurika Patkar both survived scares against Malaysia but maintained their composure in the deciding game against contrasting styles of Ho Ying and defensive Chang Alice Li Sian, respectively.

Important results:

Super Eights:

Men: India bt Sri Lanka 3-0 (A. Amalraj bt Krishan Wickramarathna 11-5, 11-6, 11-3; G. Sathiyan bt Nirmala Jayasinghe 11-5, 11-3, 11-4; Manav Thakkar bt Milinda Lakshitha 8-11, 11-4, 11-8, 11-1); India bt Malaysia 3-0 (A. Amalraj bt Feng Chee Leong 7-11, 12-10, 11-7, 11-8; A. Sharath Kamal bt M.A.H. Muhamad Rizal 11-9, 11-8, 11-6; Harmeet Desai bt Qi Shen Wong 11-2, 11-4, 11-4); India bt Wales 3-0 (Manav Thakkar bt Dean Cundy 11-9, 11-6, 11-3; Harmeet Desai bt Callum Evans 11-9, 11-7, 11-5; A. Amalraj bt Benedict Watson 11-5, 11-6, 11-5).

Women: India bt Wales 3-0 (Madhurika Patkar bt Charlotte Carey 5-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-8; Archana Kamath bt Beth Richards 11-8, 11-6, 11-7; Ayhika Mukherjee bt Lara Whitton 11-3, 11-8, 11-7); Nigeria bt Malaysia 3-1; India bt Malaysia 3-0 (Archana Kamath bt Tee Ai Xin 11-6, 12-10, 11-6; Manika Batra bt Ho Ying 13-11, 8-11, 7-11, 12-10, 11-9; Madhurika Patkar bt Chang Alice Li Sian 11-8, 8-11, 11-2, 6-11, 11-5); India bt Nigeria 3-0 (Archana Kamath bt Offiong Edem 6-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-8; Manika Batra bt Ajoke Ojomu 11-4,1-3, 11-4; Sutirtha Mukherjee bt Cecilia Akan 11-4, 11-8, 11-8).


Semifinal line-up:

Men: India vs Singapore, Malaysia vs England

Women: India vs Singapore, England vs Nigeria. 

Singles seedings:

Men: G. Sathiyan (Ind), A. Sharath Kamal (Ind), Samuel Walker (Eng), Hu Heming (Aus), A. Amalraj (Ind), Harmeet Desai (ind), Olajide Omotoyo (Ngr), Manav Thakkar (Ind).

Women: Manika Batra (Ind), Ho Tin-Tin (Eng), Madhurika Patkar (Ind), Charlotte Carey (Wal), Archana Kamath (Ind), Ho Ying (Mas), Melissa Tapper (Aus), Michelle Bromley (Aus).

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment