Chennai Open Challenger: Myneni to face Kadhe in opener

The main draw boasts a healthy number of Indian represents, with 13 Indians a part of the total 32 player draw.

Jordan Thompson of Australia during a practice session ahead of the Chennai Open ATP Challenger.   -  R. Ragu

Tennis action is set to return to Chennai as the Chennai Open Challenger begins at the SDAT tennis courts in Nugambakkam on Monday.

Top-seed Jordan Thompson — who is playing his first tournament in India — will look to get off to a winning start when he takes on Egypt's Karim-Mohamed Maamoun in the first round. Second seed and top-ranked Indian Yuki Bhambri faces Spain's Bernae Zapata Miralles in his opening match.

Read: Fit-again Saketh Myneni eager to get back to action

The most interesting clash of the day will be the first match at centre court, where Saketh Myneni — who is returning from an injury — takes on qualifier Arjun Khade.

It will be a key contest as Khade, who defeated Luca Margaroli 7-5, 6-2 in the qualifiers, will look to stage an upset early in the competition.

The main draw boasts a healthy number of Indian represents, with 13 Indians a part of the total 32 player draw.

Also read: Chennai likely to host two more Challengers in 2018

Earlier in the day, three Indians, Arjun Khade, Sidharth Rawat and Abhinav Sanjeev got through the rigours of the qualifiers to make it to the main draw.


Singles qualifying – Third Round

[1] Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul (THA) Bt.  [7] Haadin Salim Bava (IND) 6-2, 6-2; Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (IND)  Bt. [2] Nokola Cacic (SRB) WO; [5] Sidharth Rawat (IND) Bt. [4] Vishnu Vardhan (IND) 6-7(7), 63, 4-1 (Retd.); [6] Arjun Kadhe (IND) Bt. Luca Margaroli (SUI) 7-5, 6-2.


Order of play

First round: Singles: A. Kadhe (IND) vs S. Myneni (IND); N. Prashanth vs [3] Duchkee Lee (KOR); [5] S. Nagal (IND) vs Antoine Escoffier (FRA); N. Balaji (IND) vs  Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul (THA); LucasCatarina (MON) vs N. Sinha (IND); S. Mukund (IND) vs Gerard Granollers (ESP); D. Suresh (IND) vs S. Rawat (IND); [4] Mohamed Safwat (EGY) vs Alessandro Bega (ITA).

Doubles: [1] Sanchal Ratiwatana (THA) / Sonchat Ratiwatana (THA) vs C. Sood (IND) / L. Sood (IND); Dmitry Popko (KAZ) / Bernabe Zapata Miralles (ESP) vs [2] N. Balaji (IND) / V. Vardhan (IND); A. Kalyanpur (IND) / S. Mukund (IND) vs [4] Luca Margaroli (SUI) / S. Myneni (IND)

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos