Gauff becomes ninth youngest WTA title winner after Linz triumph

Coco Gauff completed a dream week in Linz to become the youngest player to win a WTA event since Czech Nicole Vaidisova, who triumphed in Tashkent in 2004.

Coco Gauff won a first WTA title in Linz.   -  Getty Images

Teenage prodigy Coco Gauff won her first WTA title on Sunday following a 6-3, 1-6, 6-2 victory over Jelena Ostapenko in the final in Linz that saw her hold her first trophy aloft aged 15.

Gauff, who only entered the field as a lucky loser after failing to qualify, completed a dream week at Linz Open in front of a supportive crowd to become the youngest player to win a WTA event since Czech Nicole Vaidisova, who triumphed in Vancouver and Tashkent two months apart in 2004.

“I'll remember this day for the rest of my life,” the delighted Gauff said after receiving a minutes-long standing ovation from 3,000 spectators. "I had an amazing week and I hope to be back in the future.”

“I'm still overwhelmed, it's shocking and crazy to say I've won my first WTA title,” she added. "This tournament was definitely not even on the calendar for me at the start of the season. I didn't think I'd have a chance to get in - now I'm the champion.”


Gauff will shoot up from 110 in the rankings into the 80s, according to WTA calculations, after becoming the youngest American to earn a WTA trophy since Jennifer Capriati at Toronto in 1991.

Ten youngest WTA title winners, after Coco Gauff's victory at the event in Linz on Sunday:

Tracy Austin (USA): 14 years and 28 days (1977 Portland)

Kathy Rinaldi (USA): 14 years, six months and 24 days (1981 Kyoto)

Jennifer Capriati (USA): 14 years, six months and 29 days (1990 Puerto Rico)

Andrea Jaeger (USA): 14 years, seven months and 14 days (1980 Las Vegas)

Mirjana Lucic-Baroni (CRO): 15 years, one month and 25 days (1997 Bol)

Nicole Vaidisova (CZE): 15 years, three months and 23 days (2004 Vancouver)

Monica Seles (USA): 15 years, four months and 29 days (1989 Houston)

Gabriela Sabatini (ARG): 15 years, five months and two days (1985 Japan)

Coco Gauff (USA): 15 years and seven months (2019 Linz)

Anke Huber (GER): 15 years, eight months and 22 days (1990 Schenectady)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :