Australia’s Marc Polmans was disqualified for accidentally hitting the chair umpire after missing the match point against Stefano Napolitano during the Shanghai Masters qualifiers on Tuesday.
The scoreline was at 7-6, 6-6 (6-5) in favour of Polmans when he hit the extra ball straight towards the umpire in frustration after missing the point. He immediately went to apologise. The match ended there itself.
He came down towards the net to play a volley but couldn’t clear the net. Within a moment, the 26-year-old’s anger resulted in him getting disqualified and Napolitano to advance to the main draw in Shanghai.
The round of 128 will begin from October 4.
- ECB launch cricket regulator to tackle discrimination
- Real Madrid defender Carvajal out until next year due to calf injury
- Manchester City charged by FA over player conduct in Spurs draw
- ISL 2023: East Bengal blanks NorthEast United 5-0; Silva, Sekar shine
- Dipa Karmakar focuses on Paris Olympics spot after Asian Games disappointment