Road to Wimbledon: Anjali Rathi, Veda Raju Prapurna win ticket to London

Anjali and Veda have qualified to compete in the U.K. U-14 championship in Wimbledon in August.

File Photo: Veda Raju Prapurna won her two knockout matches in straight sets.

Anjali Rathi defeated Pari Singh 7-5, 2-6, 6-1 for a ticket to London in the Road to Wimbledon U-14 tennis tourney, on the grass courts of the Gymkhana Club here on Friday.

Having lost to the top seeded Pari in the last league match on Thursday, and having withstood a three-set clash against Suhitha Maruri in the quarterfinals in the morning, the free-stroking Anjali was well-prepared for the key clash. Unlike the league match against Pari, when she did not handle the climax well in a three-setter, Anjali was in control this time, cruising to victory.

Veda Raju Prapurna, in contrast, won her two knockout matches in straight sets against Amish Shukla and Kundana Sri Bandaru to book the other berth for Wimbledon.

Read | Indian Wells Masters: Federer too good for Edmund en route to last-eight

The final between Anjali and Veda will only be of academic interest, as both the players have qualified to compete in the U.K. U-14 championship in Wimbledon in August.

Ayushmaan, Bushan win

In the boys event in Chandigarh, Ayushmaan Arjeria and Bushan Haobam won the super tie-break in their semifinals against Aditya Rathi and Yuvan Nandal respectively, confirming their trip to Wimbledon.

The day started on a sad note, as Paul Hutchins, the erstwhile tournament director of Road to Wimbledon and the former British Davis Cup captain, died. He was 73. He was associated with the scheme till last year, and always ensured that the Indian players, coaches and officials were at home in London.

The results


Semifinals: Ayushmaan Arjeria bt Aditya Rathi 7-5, 0-6, [11-9]; Bushan Haobam bt Yuvan Nandal 6-4, 5-7, [10-8].

Quarterfinals: Aditya Rathi bt Dhananjay Athreya 7-5, 6-2; Ayushmaan Arjeria bt Manas Manoj Dhamne 6-3, 6-3; Bushan Haobam bt Skandha Prasanna Rao 6-1, 6-1; Yuvan Nandal bt Agriya Yadav 6-3, 6-3.


Semifinals: Anjali Rathi bt Pari Singh 7-5, 2-6, 6-1; Veda Raju Prapurna bt Kundana Sri Bandaru 6-3, 6-1.

Quarterfinals: Pari Singh bt Abhaya Vemuri 6-2, 6-1; Anjali Rathi bt Suhitha Maruri 1-6, 6-3, 6-3; Veda Raju Prapurna bt Amishi Shukla 6-3, 6-2; Kundana Sri Bandaru bt Apurva Vemuri 6-3, 6-2.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :