Anas breaks 400m national record, qualifies for Doha World Championships

Muhammed Anas qualified for the 2019 Doha World Championships by clocking 45.21s at the Kladno International meet, thereby breaking his own 400m national record.

Muhammed Anas had won the sliver medal in both the men's 400m and 4*400m relay at the 2018 Asian Games.   -  Michael Steele

Muhammed Anas broke his own men’s 400m national record, clocking 45.21s at the Kladno international meet in the Czech Republic on Saturday and qualified for this September-October’s World championships in Doha. The entry standard in the event is 45.30s.

Anas’ previous national record, 45.24s, also came in the Czech Republic last year.

READ| Universiade 2019: Dutee Chand wins gold at Naples

Meanwhile M. Sreeshankar produced his season’s best performance (7.97m) as he won the long jump gold at the Tatyana Kolpakova international athletics meet at Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan, on Saturday.

Four of his six jumps were fouls but 20-year-old, the national record holder with 8.20m, had his best jump in the fourth.

“I felt good today. I fouled four jumps but two or three of them looked to be above 8.10m. My approach was good too,” Sreeshankar told The Hindu from Bishkek.

M Sreeshankar had missed last year’s Commonwealth Games with an appendix surgery and struggled at the Asian Games with run-up issues.   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT


Meanwhile Sahil Silwal came up with a personal best effort of 78.50m to take the javelin throw gold. The 19-year-old is now in the third spot in the under-20 world list this year.

Archana Suseentran (100m), Lili Das (400m) and the 4x100m relay team all won gold in the women’s section while Harsh Kumar pocketed the men’s 400m title.

Meanwhile Jisna Mathew took the silver in the women’s 400m in 53.76s.



400m: 1. Muhammed Anas (45.21s, national record; OR 45.24).

Others: Noah Nirmal Tom (46.89), K.S. Jeevan (46.93), M.P. Jabir (47.15), P. Kunhumuhammed (47.69).


400m: 1. V.K. Vismaya (52.54s), 3. Saritaben Gayakwad (53.37).

Others: Sonia Baishya (54.19), R.Vithya (54.49), V. Subha (54.75), V.K. Shalini (55.01).



400m: 1. Harsh Kumar (46.76s), 2. Gajanand Mistri (47.23).

1500m: 2. Rahul (3:50.69s).

Long jump: 1. M. Sreeshankar (7.97m).

Javelin throw: 1. Sahil Silwal (78.50m), 3. Rohit Yadav (73.33). 


100m: 1. S. Archana (11.74s). 400m: 2. Jisna Mathew (53.76s).

1500m: 1. Lili Das (4:19.05s).

4x100m relay: 1. Archana, Revathi, Rashmi, Hina (45.81s). 

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :