Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan dropped from BCCI annual contracts list; Rohit, Virat, Jadeja, Bumrah retained in Grade A+

The BCCI said that Iyer and Kishan were not considered for the annual contracts in this round of recommendations.

Published : Feb 28, 2024 18:11 IST , MUMBAI - 3 MINS READ

Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer during a T20I against South Africa.
Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer during a T20I against South Africa. | Photo Credit: DEEPAK KR

Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer during a T20I against South Africa. | Photo Credit: DEEPAK KR

Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan, who were members of India’s ODI World Cup squad, have been stripped off the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI’s) central retainer for 2023-24.

The list of 30 men’s cricketers was announced by the BCCI Secretary Jay Shah on Wednesday. “Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan were not considered for the annual contracts in this round of recommendations,” Shah stated.

While the statement does not specify the reason, the BCCI administration along with the team management and the selection panel have been extremely unhappy with Ishan and Shreyas over their reluctance to participate in the Ranji Trophy.

Despite repeated directives, Ishan did not feature in the Ranji Trophy, instead preferring to train in Vadodara along with his franchise captain Hardik Pandya after returning midway through India’s tour to South Africa. After being omitted from India’s Test squad after the second Test against England, Shreyas did not turn up for Mumbai in the Ranji Trophy. On Tuesday, he made himself available for Mumbai’s Ranji semifinal versus Tamil Nadu.

“The BCCI has recommended that all athletes give precedence to participating in domestic cricket during periods when they are not representing the national team,” Shah reiterated in the statement.

Despite being eligible for a pro-rata contract, Sportstar understands the duo will not be offered a retainer at all as disciplinary action and to set a strong example for the cricketers who have increasingly prioritised the Indian Premier League over other competitions.

Without a BCCI contract, the duo will also be unable to have the medical cover offered by the BCCI and will be able to access the BCCI training and rehab infrastructure, including the National Cricket Academy, only through a request by their respective state association.

For the first time, the BCCI has offered fast bowling contracts for five pacers who are not among the list of 30 centrally contracted players. They include Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal and Vidwath Kaverappa.

The promotions: KL Rahul, Mohammed Siraj, Shubman Gill (Grade B to A); Kuldeep Yadav (Grade C to B) The additions: Yashasvi Jaiswal (Grade B); Rinku Singh, Tilak Varma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Rajat Patidar (Grade C). The demotions: Axar Patel, Rishabh Pant (Grade A to B). The omissions: Shreyas Iyer (Grade B); Ishan Kishan, Umesh Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvendra Chahal (Grade C).

Among the list of 30 contracted athletes, K.L. Rahul -- despite a mysterious quad injury at the moment -- Mohammed Siraj , Shubman Gill, Kuldeep Yadav and Yashasvi Jaiswal have been the big gainers. Jaiswal makes an entry into the contracts fold in Grade B, while Kuldeep has been promoted from Grade C to B. The remaining trio has been promoted from Grade B to A on the back of their performance in the previous contract cycle.

The BCCI’s central retainer cycle runs from October 1 to September 30, so the list of 30 cricketers announced on Wednesday will be in effect till September end.

Left-arm spinner Axar Patel and wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant who has been working hard on a comeback since his road accident almost 15 months ago have been demoted from Grade B to A.

All the annual retainer fees along with the match fees have been left unchanged. As a result, Grade A+ cricketers will earn Rs. 7 crore, while the ones in Grade A, B and C will take home Rs. 5 crore, Rs. 3 crore and Rs. 1 crore, respectively.

As per the convention, any non-contracted cricketer - except Shreyas and Ishan - who will play a minimum of 3 Tests, eight ODIs or 10 T20Is during the contract period is eligible for a contract on a pro-rata basis since the date of his eligibility.

Here is the full list of player contracts:

Full List
Grade A+ (4 players)
Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja.
Grade A (6 players)
R. Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed. Siraj, K.L. Rahul, Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya.
Grade B (5 players)
Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Yashasvi Jaiswal.
Grade C (15 players)
Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Rajat Patidar.
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment