BCCI to form committee to manage compensation for domestic players

The committee will feature the five BCCI office-bearers, including Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah, and one representative will be chosen from each of the six zones.

BCCI logo

"The idea is to ensure that each zone has representation so that the Board can sort out the compensation plan," a BCCI insider said (Representative Image).   -  Getty Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to form a committee to look into the compensation package for domestic cricketers.

Sportstar understands that the committee will feature the five office-bearers -- Sourav Ganguly, Jay Shah, Rajiv Shukla and Arun Dhumal. Along with them, one representative will also be chosen from each of the six zones -- North, East, West, South, Central and Northeast -- to ensure that the process is carried out smoothly.

RELATED | BCCI approves Rs. 10 crore support for India's Olympic campaign

The decision was taken in an emergent meeting of the BCCI Apex Council on Sunday. "The idea is to ensure that each zone should have a representation and accordingly, the Board can sort out the plan for compensation," a Board insider said.

With the BCCI cancelling the Ranji Trophy last year, nearly 700 cricketers were financially affected and during its AGM in Ahmedabad in December last year, the Board had decided that it will compensate the players.

On an average, an active domestic cricketer in the country earns Rs 20 lakh a year. And talking to this publication earlier, the BCCI president Ganguly had stated that the Board will compensate the players for the season that was disrupted due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :