BCCI's Cricket Advisory Committee to pick three new selectors

The three-member CAC will pick the national selectors ahead of the series against England.

Some top names have applied for the three vacant CAC positions. - GETTY IMAGES (REPRESENTATIVE IMAGE)

When the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) meets for its Annual General Meeting in Ahmedabad on Thursday, it's three-member Cricket Advisory Committee is likely to pick the three national selectors ahead of the series against England.

A three-member committee headed by Madan Lal – R. P. Singh and Sulakshana Naik were the other members - was appointed in January last year for a one-year term and had appointed Sunil Joshi and Harvinder Singh as national selectors earlier this year, and Sportstar understands that the same committee could conduct the interviews online, most likely on Thursday.

ALSO READ | IPL 2021 to follow eight-team format with playoffs

Some top names - including Ajit Agarkar, Abey Kuruvilla, Maninder Singh and Chetan Sharma - have applied for the three vacant positions. While Sharma and Kuruvilla are prominent names, Agarkar is the biggest among them, having played more than 200 internationals across formats for India.

Even though the BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly had earlier stated that the zonal system won’t be followed while picking the selection committee, the Madan Lal committee had replaced M. S. K. Prasad (south zone) with Joshi, while Gagan Khoda (central zone) was replaced by Harvinder. So, it is expected that the zonal policy will be followed this time around, too.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :