Sheer indifference may have resulted in many cricketers not becoming a member of the Indian Cricketers Association (ICA) in order to take part in its first election through e-voting from October 10 to 13.

But following the reforms in cricket suggested by the Justice Lodha Panel and validated by the Supreme Court, some well known cricketers — male and female — who have played for India and for their States in the BCCI domestic tournaments, have entered the ICA election fray. According to the final electoral list announced by the electoral officer, N. Gopalaswami, 1267 are eligible to vote in the three-day e-voting.

The applications of cricketers who showed the expression of interest in becoming a member of the ICA on or before September 21 were considered by the BCCI’s electoral officer.

Read | CoA debars TN, Haryana and Maharashtra from BCCI election

Former India batsman Ashok Malhotra is unopposed for the post of ICA president, Shantha Rangaswamy is unopposed for the ICA female cricketer representative in the BCCI Apex Council, and former India ODI player, Surinder Khanna, is unopposed for the ICA representative in the IPL Governing Council.

There are three cricketers in Aunshuman Gaekwad, Kirti Azad and Rakesh Dhruv in the fray for the ICA male cricketer representative post in the BCCI Apex Council. Both Gaekwad and Azad are former India cricketers and both have been networking hard to get the registered cricketers vote for them. Former Saurashtra and Gujarat left-arm spinner Dhruv is also campaigning a bit.

Read | Complaint against RCA alleges violations of Lodha recommendations

Former Delhi cricketer Ashu Dani and Gujarat’s Hitesh Majmudar are in the contest for the ICA secretary’s post. Majumdar was the bowling coach of Gujarat and has worked with Jasprit Bumrah.

Tamil Nadu’s V. Krishnaswamy and Uttar Pradesh’s Kishore Kumar Sharma are in the poll for the ICA Treasurer’s post.

E-voting will also take place to choose male and female representatives to the State Apex Councils of Baroda, Goa, Hyderabad, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, and Uttar Pradesh.