ICC confirms nine World XI players for hurricane relief T20

ICC World XI, captained by Eoin Morgan, will take on West Indies XI in a Twenty20 match at Lord’s on May 31.

Eoin Morgan will captain the ICC World XI side.   -  AP

Nine players chosen to represent ICC World XI have confirmed their participation for the Hurricane Relief T20 challenge at Lord’s on May 31, according to a media release by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Read: India refuses day-night Test on Australia tour

The team, which plays West Indies XI to help garner funds for the restoration of five cricket venues in the Caribbean affected by hurricanes Irma and Maria, will be led by England’s limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan. Besides Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya, whose inclusion was confirmed by the ICC on Thursday, other members of the side are: Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Thisara Perera, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal and Rashid Khan.

‘Fantastic opportunity for Indian fans’

Talking about the latest entrants from India, former England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) chief Giles Clarke, who has supported the event, said, “This is a fantastic opportunity for fans of the Indian team to come out and watch these two flamboyant players, who bring both class and star value to what I’m sure will be a memorable match at Lord’s.”

All-rounder Carlos Brathwaite will captain West Indies XI for the contest. Other stars such as Chris Gayle, Andre Russell and Marlon Samuels will also play.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :