T20 World Cup final set for MCG next November

The MCG will host the final for next year’s Twenty20 World Cup on November 13, while the SCG and Adelaide Oval will host the semifinals on November 9 and 10.

Published : Nov 16, 2021 07:36 IST , Sydney

Australia will defend its T20 world title in just 11 months’ time.
Australia will defend its T20 world title in just 11 months’ time.

Australia will defend its T20 world title in just 11 months’ time.

Next year's Twenty20 World Cup will be held across seven venues in Australia, officials confirmed on Tuesday, with Sri Lanka and the West Indies forced to play for a place in the Super 12.

The tournament, which was supposed to be held Down Under in 2020 but was pushed back two years due to coronavirus, will take place between October 16 and November 13.

A total of 45 matches will be contested across Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney, with the final under lights at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Sydney and Adelaide will host the semis.


"Following the success of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup in 2020 (in Australia) and a two-year postponement, our sights are now firmly set on planning for the 2022 event," said International Cricket Council head of events Chris Tetley.

Host Australia will be defending champion after hammering New Zealand by eight wickets in Dubai on Sunday. Both of this year's finalists automatically qualify for the Super 12 stage along with Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and South Africa, who are the eight highest-ranked teams.

Sri Lanka and the West Indies will play the preliminary round with Namibia, Scotland, and four other countries to be determined through two qualifying tournaments -- in Oman in February and Zimbabwe in June-July, 2022.


Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment