India vs New Zealand, U-19 World Cup: India wins by 44 runs (DLS method)

Live score, commentary and updates from the final Group A game of the ICC U-19 World Cup. India plays New Zealand at the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein.

Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal has been in fine form of late. - N. SUDARSHAN (FILE)

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's LIVE coverage of the U-19 World Cup clash between India and New Zealand, played in Bloemfontein.


Ravi Bishnoi, the spinner, has been adjudged the man of the match, thanks to his five-over spell of four for 30.

So, it's three wins out of three for India in the U-19 World Cup. The quarterfinals will be up next. We'll be back live, for it. Until then, it's goodbye.

NZ 147 all out.

The tail doesn't wag for too long, and it's all over for New Zealand. Kartik Tyagi, the left-arm seamer, bowls a yorker and gets Adithya Ashok out bowled. The middle-stump is uprooted.

Soon after, Hancock and O'Rourke attempt a single after Hancock drives a delivery to mid-off. It's a direct hit from Priyam Garg, the Indian captain, and New Zealand has been bowled out.

NZ 135 for 8 after 18 overs: New Zealand's innings is unravelling fast, it's lost three more in one over.

Ravi Bishnoi is profiting from his googly. First, he gets a delivery to breach the defence of Ben Pomare, and later in the over, he gets Hayden Dickson out stumped.

Wheeler-Greenall tries to smack one to cow corner via a slog-sweep on the final ball. He doesn't get enough leverage behind the stroke and Akash Singh runs in a long way from midwicket to complete a diving catch. NZ eight down.


NZ 131 for 5 after 17 overs: New Zealand in trouble, it's five down now, as the captain departs. He pulls Sushant Mishra to mid-on, and the fielder placed there takes a comfortable catch.

Beckham Wheeler-Greenall gets his first boundary through midwicket; he plays a slog across the line and the ball races away to the rope. The boundaries aren't coming thick and fast otherwise, though.

NZ 116 for 4 after 15 overs: A couple of relatively quiet overs, for a change, with two new batsman in the middle. And then Ankolekar dismisses one more batsman. Nicholas Lidstone plays all around a straight delivery and the he is given out leg-before-wicket. A couple of deliveries earlier, he played a paddle-sweep expertly and the ball goes to the boundary, through the fielder at short fine-leg.

At the start of the 14th over, Tashkoff attempted a drive and squirts the ball over cover to get a boundary.

NZ 103 for 3 after 12 overs: Ankolekar has one more, as Lellman is bowled. The batsman attempts a hard sweep off a delivery outside the off-stump; he gets an inside edge and the ball crashed into the stumps. India back in it now. Lellman departs for 31 (19b, 4x2, 6x2). Jesse Tashkoff, the captain, is the new batsman.

Lidstone guides Akash to third man and NZ gets to 100, in the 12th over.

NZ 84 for 2 after nine overs: Ankolekar gets rid of the dangerous Mariu. Mariu gets hold of a full toss and deposits the ball straight the long-off fielder. He departs for a quickfire 42 (31b, 4x5, 1x6).

Nicholas Lidstone is the new batsman.

Lellman continues his acceleration. He hits two drives for boundaries off Ravi Bishnoi.


NZ 74 for 1 after seven overs: Ravi Bishnoi, the leg-spinner, comes into the attack and hands India the breakthrough. Ollie White comes down the track for a bellicose stroke, fails to negotiate a googly and is stumped.

But it makes no difference as Mariu sweeps Bishnoi for a boundary just a delivery after the dismissal, and Fergus Lellman, the new batsman, pulls left-arm spinner Ankolekar for two sixes in the next over. NZ is racing along.


NZ 51 for 0 after five overs: Frantic run-making from both openers. They are trying to make good use of the PowerPlay. Plenty of short deliveries from seamers Sushant Mishra and Akash Singh, and Mariu, who has been in good form so far in this tournament, makes hay. He hits two fours and a six — a fierce pull to midwicket — off the first over bowled by Akash.

He could have been out, though, an over ago. Rhys Mariu pulled Sushant at deep square leg, where Atharva Ankolekar dropped the catch. Ankolekar didn't have to move and the ball came right to him, but the ball spilled out of his hands.

India 115 for 0 after 23 overs: Saxena gets to his half-century in 60 deliveries. Spinners Ashok and Tashkoff no not give away a single boundary and the openers take singles and twos to get their side to 115. The Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method will apply to determine New Zealand's target.

Players are making their way out to take their positions. It's a 23-overs-a-side match now. India will therefore play two more overs, before New Zealand begins its chase.

The covers are back on after rain returns in Bloemfontein.

Play will resume within half an hour, it will be a 27-overs-per-side contest.


There is more delay in Bloemfontein due to showers and it seems the contest could be washed off.

More delay as rain has returned in Bloemfontein.


The groundstaff is busy removing the slush deposited on the ground. The rain has stopped, and play may begin soon.


An interruption in play due to rain. Groundsmen cover the ground at the Mangaung Oval.

India 103 for 0 after 21 overs: Tashkoff drifts down leg and his delivery is hammered by Jaiswal for a six to midwicket. That brings up the half-century for Jaiswal, who continues to good run in this tournament.

The hit also brings up the team's hundred.

India 97 for 0 after 20 overs: Tashkoff, the captain, gives away 11 runs in his second over. Yashasvi Jaiswal plays a fierce drive through extra-cover to collect his fourth four and then tucks the left-arm spinner to fine-leg to run three. Earlier in the over, Saxena had flayed a delivery through the off-side to get three.

Spin from both ends as Adithya Ashok, a leg-spinner, comes into the attack. He bowls an accurate first over and gives away just one run.

India 70 for 0 after 15 overs: Jaiswal tucks into off-spinner Beckham Wheeler-Greenall, hitting a four and a six off him. The six was hit in the 11th over, via a slogsweep to midwicket. No trouble for the openers. Jaiswal has moved to 34 and Saxena 32.

India 45 for 0 after 10 overs: Now that the batsmen are set, runs are flowing more freely. Saxena signalled the shifting of gears when he played a sweet square drive off the back-foot off Rourke, who has now given away 28 off his four overs.

India 13 for 0 after five overs: It's been a sedate start from the openers, both of whom have hit one boundary in their short stay at the crease so far. Hancock, the right-arm seamer, has given away just six runs in his first three overs.

TOSS: NZ wins toss and opts to field.


India (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Divyansh Saxena, Tilak Varma, Priyam Garg, Dhruv Jurel, Siddhesh Veer, Atharva Ankolekar, Ravi Bishnoi, Sushant Mishra, Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Rhys Mariu, Ollie White, Fergus Lellman, Nicholas Lidstone, Jesse Tashkoff (c), Beckham Wheeler-Greenall, Ben Pomare (wk), Hayden Dickson, Adithya Ashok, David Hancock, William O'Rourke.


The two teams have already booked their berths in the quarterfinals. India has had a good tournament so far; it's registered two comprehensive wins. New Zealand, on the other hand, managed a narrow win over Sri Lanka in its previous contest to make it to the last-eight, after a washed out contest against Japan.

This is the final Group A contest in the U-19 World Cup.