Kedar Jadhav’s responsible 86 and Shahbaz Nadeem’s crucial four-wicket haul were significant contributions for India B as it clinched the Deodhar Trophy title with an all-round performance against India C at the JSCA Stadium here.

Opting to bat in the final, India B overcame a slow start to post a winnable 283 for seven and ensured a 51-run win, restricting India C to 232 for nine.


On a pitch offering good bounce and movement, medium pacer Ishan Porel bowled beautifully to hand India C the early advantage. Porel had Ruturaj Gaikwad with a perfect outswinger and rival skipper Parthiv Patel, who had promoted himself and had escaped on three, with a delivery that found the southpaw’s outside edge. India B struggled at 28 for two in nine overs.

Half-century for Jaiswal

Yashasvi Jaiswal, reprieved on 10, stitched together 45 runs with B. Aparajith (13) before the latter was trapped in front by Jalaj Saxena.

Jaiswal (54 off 79, 5x4, 1x6) flourished to play some delectable shots to get his second half-century. He perished due to his rush of blood, hoisting Axar Patel to Porel at deep midwicket. At 92 for four in the 25 over, India B was in the danger of losing its grip.

Read | Jalaj Saxena: I wake up every morning hoping to play for India

However, Jadhav stood firm in three important partnerships — worth 79, 74 and 31 with Nitish Rana (20 off 28), Vijay Shankar (45 off 33, 4x4, 2x6) and K. Gowtham (35 n.o., 10b, 3x4, 3x6) respectively — to turn the script around.

Even while using his excellent judgement to rotate the strike, Jadhav played some good-looking strokes, predominantly off Mayank Markande on the leg side, in his 94-ball knock containing four fours and as many sixes.

Final flourish

As Vijay and Gowtham switched gear in the death, Jadhav provided support until the final over.

Gowtham was severe on Pathania, who spilled two catches off his own bowling and conceded 31 in his last over, in his blitzkrieg and gave his side a distinct advantage. Porel scalped Rana, Vijay and Jadhav for his second fifer (five for 43).

Shaky start

India C faltered in its reply, losing captain Shubman Gill to Mohammed Siraj in the second over. Ten overs later, Nadeem removed a well-set Mayank Agarwal (28).

Soon, Virat Singh was run out and Suryakumar Yadav and Dinesh Karthik fell to Nadeem’s disciplined bowling as India C reeled at 77 for five.

Efforts of Priyam Garg (74), Axar (38), Saxena (37) and Markande (27) — Nadeem’s fourth victim — were in vain.