India vs Australia A, 2nd Practice Match Highlights: McDermott, Wildermuth hit centuries; game ends in draw

Australia A vs India, 2nd Practice Match Highlights: McDermott and Wildermuth hit brilliant centuries as the practice game ends in a draw at Sydney Cricket Ground.

Rishabh Pant

India's Rishabh Pant bats during day two of the Tour Match between Australia A and India at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Saturday.   -  Getty Images

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's LIVE Coverage of day three of the second practice match between India and Australia A at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Australia A vs India, 2nd Practice Match Result: McDermott and Wildermuth hit brilliant centuries as the practice game ends in a draw at Sydney Cricket Ground.

292/4 after 73 overs: Both McDermott and Wildermuth hot centuries and have put Australia A in commanding position. 

Australia A 256/4 after 65 overs: MacDermott needs another eight runs to reach to his century and Wildermuth is motoring nicely wih a run-ball 78. Australia A needs another 216 runs.

Australia A 200/4 after 55 overs: McDermott is well on course to reach his maiden First-Class hundred and this has been superb batting. The partnership is woth 58 and Australia needs 273 runs to win.

Australia A 182/4 after 53 overs: Wildermuth and McDermott have raised a stand and India struggling to break this partnership. Mayank Agarwal and Navdeep Saini are operating with the pink ball.

Australia A 143/4 after 44 overs: Hanuma Vihari strikes and he breaks the stand as Carey falls. India has an opening here and will look to make further inroads.

Australia 135/3 after 40 overs: McDermott hits a fifty and the partnership is woth 109 off 173 deliveries.  The Indian pacers are unable to penetrate through this stand and Carey, in particular, has been superb.

Australia A 111/3 after 33 overs: Both McDermott and Carey have played some fabulous strokes and the duo is taking on the Indian attack. India in need for a breakthrough. Carey hits fifty.

Australia A 89/3 after 27 overs: Jasprit Bumrah begins post Tea proceedings and he does well as he beats the outside edge of the batsmen on a couple of ocassions.

Tea Break: Australia A 3/89 after 26 overs

Australia A 87/3 after 25 overs: The partnership between Carey and McDermott is worth 61 and this has been a fine stand, denying the Indians any further wickets.

Australia A 3/71 after 17: Mcdermott and Carey have build a partnership and India in search for a breakthough after picking early wickets.

Australia A 3/25 after 11 overs: After Shami gave India an early breakthrough, Mohammed Siraj pick a wicket each to leave Australia in deep trouble.

Australia A 6/1 after 5 overs: Mohammed Shami strikes and gives India an early breakthrough as Marcus Harris departs. Good start from India.

Australia A 0/0 after 1 over: Mohammed Shami begins India's charge of picking 10 wickets and it will be a test of character for both Harris and Burns.

Day 2 Stumps - India 386/4, leads by 472 runs

Day 2 has been nothing short of fantastic for India as Rishabh Pant and Hanuma Vihari slammed centuries to put the side in a commanding position. The likes of Mayank Agarwal and Ajinkya Rahane too played their part even as the team seems to be raring to go when the first Test starts in Adelaide.

READ | Decision on Rohit Sharma for Sydney Test after post-quarantine assessment

Day 1 Stumps - India bowled out Australia A for 108; led by 86 runs

India, after being demolished at the hands of Jack Wildermuth and Sean Abbott, staged a comeback as the pace battery led by Mohammed Shami and Navdeep Saini helped the side put up a lead of 86 runs, while picking up three wickets each. Day 1 saw 20 wickets fall and Jasprit Bumrah emerge as the star, as he scored an unbeaten half-century; a first for him in first-class cricket.


India: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia A: Joe Burns, Marcus Harris, Nic Maddinson, Ben McDermott, Jack Wildermuth, Alex Carey (c & wk), Sean Abbott, Will Sutherland, Mitchell Swepson, Mark Steketee, Patrick Rowe, Harry Conway, Cameron Green


India: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), K. L. Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk).

Australia A: Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Alex Carey (c, wk), Harry Conway, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Nic Maddinson, Ben McDermott, Mark Steketee, Will Sutherland, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth.