First T20I: Poonam Yadav spins India to a 13-run victory over Sri Lanka

Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav claimed 4 wickets for 26 runs as India Women claimed victory by 13 runs in the first T20I against Sri Lanka Women.

Updated : Sep 19, 2018 13:32 IST

Smriti Mandhana will play a key role top of the order.
Smriti Mandhana will play a key role top of the order.

Smriti Mandhana will play a key role top of the order.

Hello and welcome to the LIVE updates of the first Twenty20 International between India women and Sri Lanka Women.


1:09pm: Radha Yadav takes the ninth Sri Lankan wicket with caught and bowled and concedes just three runs in the 19th over. Sri Lanka needs 15 runs off the final over.

1:06pm: The match is heading towards a tense finish as off-spinner Harmanpreet Kaur sends back debutant Kavisha Dilhari, but concedes a six off the last ball. Sri Lanka needs 18 runs off 12 balls with two wickets in hand . #INDWvSLW

1:00pm: Anuja Patil gives away six singles in the 17th over as Sri Lanka now needs 28 runs off the last 3 overs with 3 wickets in hand.

12:43pm: Left-arm spinner Radha Yadav claims the wicket of Nilakshi de Silva and concedes just three runs off the 13th over as Sri Lanka needs 52 runs off the final 42 balls.

12:36pm: Sri Lanka is five wickets down after Poonam Yadav dismisses Shashikala Siriwardene with the last ball of the tenth over. Sri Lanka Women need 63 runs off 51 balls.

12:30pm: Sri Lanka has lost two more wickets but Lokusuriyage is holding the innings together as her team now needs 69 runs off 62 balls.

12:08pm: Chamari Athapaththu smashes a boundary off Anuja Patil as Sri Lanka reaches the 50-run mark in 5.1 overs chasing a target of 169. Sri Lanka Women 59/2 in 6 Overs.

11:55am: Arundhati Reddy sends back dangerous Yasoda Mendis after an early onslaught of 32 off 12 balls (5x4, 2x6). Sri Lanka Women 39/1 in 3 overs.

11: 30am: Veda Krishnamurthy and Mansi Joshi score 11 runs off the last over to take India's score past 160 runs. Wickets kept falling at regular intervals, but quickfire innings from Taniya Bhatiya and Jemimah Rodrigues maintained the run-rate over 7.


India Women 168/8 in 20 overs (Taniya Bhatia 46(35), Jemimah Rodrigues 36(15), Anuja Patil 34(29); Udeshika Prabodhani 18/2, Chamari Athapaththu 23/2)

11:15am: Taniya Bhatia falls on 46 after a solid stand. Veda Krisnamurthy is the new batter at the crease. India loses yet another wicket in the form of Anuja Patil (34). India Women 149/6 in 17 overs.

11:09am: Anuja Patil and Taniya Bhatia have put up a solid partnership as India Women move to 137/4 in 15 overs. The visitor recovered well after it was dented by a flurry of wickets at the start of the innings.

10:39am: After opener Smriti Mandhana departed for a duck off the second ball of the innings, Jemimah Rodrigues smashed 36 off 15 balls (3x4, 3x6) to help India reach 50 in the fourth over. Rodrigues departed in the sixth over in Lanka captain Chamari Athapaththu's bowling. India Women 96/4 in 8.4 overs


Toss: Sri Lanka Women won the toss and elected to field.


India Women: Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia(w), Poonam Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Mansi Joshi, Radha Yadav


Sri Lanka Women: Hasini Perera, Chamari Athapaththu(capt), Yasoda Mendis, Shashikala Siriwardene, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Rebeca Vandort(w), Sripali Weerakkody, Sugandika Kumari, Udeshika Prabodhani

Both countries play the five-match T20I series after the ODI series, which India won 2-1.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment