Gurbani, Saini make India 'A' squad for England Tour

Pacers Rajneesh Gubani and Navdeep Saini ended the 2017-18 Ranji Trophy season with 39 and 34 wickets, respectively.

Rajneesh Gurbani was the man-of-the-match in the final fo the 2017-18 Ranji Trophy final.   -  Vivek Bendre

Hard work paid off for Rajneesh Gurbani and Navdeep Saini as both the pacers were named in the India A squad for the four-day matches in England.

Vidarbha seamer Gurbani was the man-of-the-match in the final of the 2017-18 Ranji Trophy where he scalped eight wickets against Delhi. Those efforts were further backed up by an impressive 39 wickets from six outings in the tournament.

The 25-year-old Saini picked up 34 wickets with his medium pace.

Mayank Agarwal, who recorded a mammoth 2232 runs in the domestic season, finds himself in both the four-day and the Tri-series squad. India's U-19 World Cup-winning captain Prithvi Shaw was also rewarded with a call-up.

India 'A' will take on England Lions in three four-day matches starting from July 16 in Worcester.

West Indies 'A' will be other competitor in the tri-series alongside India 'A' and the Lions.

The squads

For four-day games:  Karun (Capt), R. Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, AR Easwaran, Prithvi, H.Vihari, Ankit Bawne, Vijay Shankar, KS Bharat (wk), Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ankit Rajpoot, Md Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Rajneesh Gurbani.

For Tri-series: Shreyas (Capt), Prithvi, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, H. Vihari, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Vijay Shankar, K. Gowtham, Axar, Krunal, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :