Ranji Trophy: Bengal posts 300 but Andhra shows fight

Riding on C.R. Gnaneshwar's unbeaten 64, Andhra reached 108 for two at stumps.

C.R. Gnaneshwar led Andhra's response on day two of the Ranji fixture against Bengal.   -  C.V.Subrahmanyam

Writtick Chatterjee's mature knock enabled Bengal to post a fighting total of 300 in its first innings against Andhra in the Group B Ranji Trophy match at the YSR ACA VDCA Stadium here on Sunday.

Riding on C.R. Gnaneshwar's unbeaten 64, Andhra reached 108 for two at stumps.

When Bengal resumed at 194 for six, Writtick held one end and let Pradipta Pramanik swing his bat without being bogged down by the Andhra seamers' enterprising spells.

As it happened: Ranji Trophy 2018-19: Round 7, Day 2 Highlights

Pramanik, who began the day on two and got a reprieve on 29 off K.V. Sasikanth, collected six boundaries to get his career-best score of 43 and forged a useful 90-run stand with Writtick.

Beginning at 27, Writtick, who executed some handsome drives, adapted to different situations. When Vijaykumar and Girinath chose to bowl outside the off-stump, Writtick walked across to play close to his body.

Prithvi Raj's ploy to hurl bouncers backfired as Writtick pulled the left-armer for four fours between fine-leg and square-leg in an over and achieved his maiden half-century, which included 11 hits to the fence.

Maiden five-for

Pramanik's best knock of the season ended early in the second session when he gave a return catch to Sasikanth. Sasikanth, who bowled a good line, claimed three more wickets, including that of Ashoke Dinda, to secure his maiden five-for.

Mukesh Kumar castled Prashanth Kumar in the second over, but Gnaneshwar and Saikrishna (43) showed patience and application to accumulate 104 runs.

When Bengal bowlers showed signs of frustration, the home batters flexed their muscles. Gnaneshwar entertained by striking nine crisp boundaries on both sides and a six off left-arm spinner Pramanik.

Saikrishna played sedate but useful innings before being dismissed in the last over.

At Visakhapatnam: Bengal 300 in 110.3 overs (Manoj Tiwary 90, Writtick Chatterjee 76, Paridpta Pramanik 43, K.V. Sasikanth five for 55) v Andhra 108 for two in 43 overs (C.R. Gnaneswhar 64 batting, Jyothi Saikrishna 43).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :