Continuing his dream season, Bihar skipper Ashutosh Aman put up an all-round show to steer his side to an innings and 216-run win over Mizoram in its Ranji Trophy Plate Group fixture on Tuesday.

Having struck a maiden century in Bihar’s 440 for nine declared, the left-arm spinner claimed 5/28 as Mizoram was shot out for 147 in the second innings.

As it Happened

Leg-spinner Samar Quadri also played a crucial role with a 10-wicket match haul that included 4/50 in the second innings.

The bonus point victory helped Bihar (34 points) cut down the deficit to three points against leaders Uttarakhand with final round to go.

READ: Ranji Trophy: Punjab seals outright win over Kerala

Bihar will face Manipur, while Uttarakhand take on the bottom-placed Mizoram from January 7-10, in a two-way race for the lone quarterfinal spot from the Plate Group.

This was Aman’s eighth five-wicket haul as he now has 57 wickets at an astounding average of 5.80 from 12 innings.

At the KIIT Stadium in Bhubaneswar, four Meghalaya batsmen notched triple figures with former Delhi wicket-kepper Puneet Bisht leading the show with a career-best 343 as Sikkim stared a big defeat.

Meghalaya declared its first innings affter posting a mammoth 826 for seven to take a massive 607-run first innings lead. The three other centurions for Meghalaya were Raj Biswa (175), Yogesh Nagar (148) and Gurinder Singh 101 not out.

At close, Sikkim was 72 for two in its second essay, trailing by 535 runs with eight wickets in hand.