Sourav Ganguly takes charge as BCCI president

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly formally took charge as the president of the BCCI, marking an end to CoA's tenure.

Sourav Ganguly being officially handed over the charge by BCCI Electoral officer, N Gopalswami.   -  BCCI Photo

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly formally took charge as the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday.

After 33 months of Committee of Administrators (CoA) being in charge, the 47-year old Ganguly was elected the president unopposed. At the General Body meeting, chaired by the members of the CoA, Ganguly was officially handed over the charge by BCCI Electoral officer, N Gopalswami.

Ganguly is the 39th president of the BCCI.

"I am happy that a cricketer has taken charge. I am sure he will take BCCI to a new height," CoA member, Diana Edulji said before heading for the meeting.

Read: Navigating through turbulent times — a timeline of CoA's bumpy ride

While Ganguly will be the chief, Jay Shah is the secretary and Arun Singh Dhumal is the treasurer. For now, Ganguly has a 10-month term before he goes for the mandatory cooling off.

CoA members Vinod Rai and Diana Edulji leave BCCI headquarters as a new team led by Sourav Ganguly takes charge.   -  Vivek Bendre


The agenda of the meeting was the adoption of the audited accounts of the BCCI for the financial years 2016-17 and 2017-18 and ratification of the appointment of statutory auditors of BCCI for the financial years 2017-18 and 2018-19. But some of the state association representatives confirmed to Sportstar that it will now be tabled once the AGM is held.

The new committee will have to call a fresh AGM with a 21-day prior notice.

Delhi and District Cricket Association chief, Rajat Sharma, who attended the meeting hoped that under the leadership of Ganguly, the Board will reach new heights. "It is important to keep differences aside and work for the betterment of the game. I am sure Indian cricket will do good under Ganguly," Sharma said. He also praised the CoA for conducting the elections smoothly. "They had limited mandate and they played their part well. Conducting the election smoothly itself is commendable," Sharma said.

Old guards of the Board — former president N. Srinivasan and secretary Niranjan Shah visited the Board headquarters to congratulate the new body.

List of BCCI presidents:

1. R.E. Grant Govan (1928-1933)

2. Sir Sikandar Hayat Khan (1933-1935)

3. Nawab Hamidullah Khan (1935-1937)

4. Maharaja K.S. Digvijaysinhji (1937-1938)

5. P. Subbarayan (1938-1946)

6. Anthony S. D'Mello (1946-1951)

7. J.C. Mukherji (1951-1954)

8. Maharajkumar of Vizianagram (1954-1956)

9. Sardar Surjit Singh Majithia 1956-1958)

10. R.K. Patel (1958-1960)

11. M.A. Chidambaram (1960-1963)

12. Maharaja Fatehsinghrao Gaekwad (1963-1966)

13. Z.R. Irani (1966-1969)

14. A.N. Ghose (1969-1972)

15. P.M. Rungta (1972-1975)

16. Ramprakash Mehra (1975-1977)

17. M. Chinnaswamy (1977-1980)

18. S.K. Wankhede (1980-1982)

19. N.K.P. Salve (1982-1985)

20. S. Sriraman (1985-1988)

21. B.N. Dutt (1988-1990)

22. Madhavrao Scindia (1990-1993)

23. I.S. Bindra (1993-1996)

24. Raj Singh Dungarpur (1996-1999)

25. A.C. Muthiah (1999-2001)

26. Jagmohan Dalmiya (2001-2004)

27. Ranbir Singh Mahendra (2004-2005)

28. Sharad Pawar (2005-2008)

29. Shashank Manohar (2008-2011)

30. N. Srinivasan (2011-2013)

31. Jagmohan Dalmiya (2013-Interim)

32. N. Srinivasan (2013-2014)

33. Shivlal Yadav (2014-Interim)

34. Sunil Gavaskar (2014-Interim)

35. Jagmohan Dalmiya (2015)

36. Shashank Manohar (2015-2016)

37. Anurag Thakur (2016-2017)

38. C.K. Khanna (2017-2019)

39. Sourav Ganguly (2019-present)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :