SA v PAK 2018-19: Controversy over umpiring as home team closes in on win

South Africa’s Dean Elgar was given not-out after he appeared to have been caught by a diving Azhar Ali at first slip; the third umpire overruled the soft signal given by the on-field umpires.

Perplexing: Pakistan’s Sarfraz Ahmed (first from left) and Shaheen Shah Afridi (second from left) react after Dean Elgar is given not-out.   -  AFP

A dropped catch and a controversial umpiring decision thwarted Pakistan as South Africa made progress towards victory on the third day of the first Test at Super Sport Park on Friday.

Chasing a target of 149, South Africa was 81 for one at lunch after a tense morning.

Read | Meet the man who made the duck walk

Pakistan made an ideal start when Hasan Ali trapped Aiden Markram leg-before-wicket before a run had been scored. Hasan and Mohammad Amir did not concede a run off the bat until Hashim Amla clipped Hasan for four in the sixth over.


There were two crucial incidents with the total on 16, either of which could have swung the game in Pakistan’s favour. Amla, on eight, was dropped by Fakhar Zaman at third slip off Hasan when he slashed hard at the ball, which flew at chest height to the fielder. In the next over, Dean Elgar, on four, edged new bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi low to first slip where Azhar Ali appeared to take a diving catch.

On-field umpires Bruce Oxenford and S. Ravi conferred before referring to television umpire Joel Wilson with a ‘soft’ signal of out, indicating they thought it was a clean catch.

Hashim Amla (middle) was dropped by Fakhar Zaman in the slips. Photo: AP


After looking at several replays including super-slow close-ups, Wilson ruled the ball had bounced and Elgar was reprieved.

‘A mistake’

The decision clearly astonished the Pakistan players and coach Mickey Arthur was seen leaving his place on the players’ balcony and going to the adjacent office of match referee David Boon. Television commentator Michael Holding criticised his fellow West Indian Wilson.

Read | Steve Smith cleared to play Bangladesh Premier League

“I'm convinced he was out,” said Holding. “I think the third umpire made a mistake. The protocol says you have got to be 100 percent sure the decision was wrong to change it.”

In a similar situation, Indian captain Virat Kohli was given out in the second Test against Australia in Perth when television umpire Nigel Llong found no conclusive evidence to overturn a ‘soft’ signal from the on-field umpires.

Elgar and Amla survived some testing bowling from the Pakistan seamers and gradually began to lift the scoring rate. Elgar was on 32 and Amla 45 at lunch.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :