Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Jharkhand, Delhi post wins, enter Super League

Jharkhand and Delhi register comfortable wins at the Mulapadu Cricket Complex in the final round of the group stages.

File Photo: Jharkhand’s Saurabh Tiwary scored an unbeaten, 24-ball 50 on Saturday.   -  K. Murali Kumar

Jharkhand and Delhi notched up comfortable wins at the Mulapadu Cricket Complex here on Saturday to book their berth in the Super League of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Jharkhand registered a five-wicket win over Kerala, while Delhi defeated Nagaland by seven wickets.

Batting first, Kerala scored 176 for six in 20 overs, thanks to useful contributions from Rohan S. Kunnummal (34, 25b, 2X4, 3X6), Sachin Baby (36, 23b, 3X4, 1X6) and Vinoop Sheela Manoharan (31, 28b, 2X4, 1X6). In reply, Jharkhand, powered by a belligerent knock from opener Anand Singh (72, 47b, 11X4, 2X6) and a stroke-filled innings by Saurabh Tiwary (50 n.o., 24b, 2X4, 5X6), romped home easily. The other main contributor was Virat Singh (46, 29b, 7X4, 1X6).

Read | Bengal secures Super League spot

In the other match, medium-pacer Subodh Bhati returned with his second four-wicket haul in the league to help Delhi bundle out Nagaland for 118 in 19.4 overs. Only opener Aditya (64, 46b, 5X4, 4X6) batted with authority as the rest of batsmen failed to rise to the occasion.

Chasing a modest target, Delhi owed its win to Hiten Dalal (81, 40b, 6X4, 7X6), who put on 93 for the third wicket with Himmat Singh (23 n.o., 16b, 3X4).

Andhra beats Manipur

In the evening, Andhra registered a 91-run win over Manipur with openers Ashwin Hebbar (71, 37b, 10X4, 3X6) and M. Pranith (71, 43b, 5X4, 5X6) compiling 118 together in 11.2 overs.

Later on, Ricky Bhui (59 no., 20b, 1X4, 7X6) and P. Girinath Reddy (34, 14b, 2X4, 3X6) put on 80 runs for the fourth wicket off just 27 balls, which effectively shut the opponent out of the contest.

The scores
  • League
  • Kerala 176 for six in 20 overs (Rohan S Kunnummal 34, Sachin Baby 36, Vinoop Sheela Manoharan 31) lost to Jharkhand 180 for five in 19.1 overs (Anand Singh 72, Virat Singh 46, Saurabh Tiwary 50 n.o.).
  • Nagaland 118 in 19.4 overs (Aditya 64, Subodh Bhati four for 14) lost to Delhi 119 for three in 12.3 overs (Hiten Dalal 81).
  • Andhra 252 for four in 20 overs (Ashwin Hebbar 71, M. Pranith 71, Ricky Bhui 59 not out, P. Girinath Reddy 34) bt Manipur 161 for five in 20 overs (Mayank Raghav 65, K. Priyojit 45, Swaroop three for 26).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :