T20 World Cup 2007: Memorable triumph frozen in time

It’s 10 years since India won the inaugural T20 World Cup on September 24, 2007. And we pay a tribute to that team by recalling its achievement through these memorable pictures. The Dhoni era began then and the players celebrate as the new captain brings the silverware. Photo: Getty Images
A priceless catch. In the final, Pakistan’s Misbah-ul-Haq skied Joginder Sharma in the last over and Shanthakumaran Sreesanth held on to the catch to give India a thrilling victory by five runs. Photo: AP
India got to 157 in the final thanks in the main to opener Gautham Gambhir’s swashbuckling 75.  Photo: Getty Images
The left-arm seamers, R. P. Singh and Irfan Pathan, did really well in the tournament. Singh had a four-wicket haul against South Africa, while Irfan messed up Pakistan’s chase in the final by picking up three wickets. Photo: AP
Yuvraj Singh’s stupendous assault of six sixes in an over against Stuart Broad of England will be spoken of for all time to come. Here the Punjab southpaw launches his sixth six with Dhoni having a ringside view of the carnage. Photo: AFP
A bowl-out decided the league match against Pakistan 3-0 in India’s favour after the scores had been tied at 141 apiece. Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa struck the stumps for India, while none could hit the timber for Pakistan. Uthappa does a bow after his successful effort.  Photo: Getty Images