TNPL 2019: Aparajith guides Veerans into playoffs

Chasing a target of 122 on a slow wicket, Aparajith brought his experience into play with an unbeaten half-century.

B. Aparajith of VB Kanchi Veerans in action against Ruby Trichy Warriors at the India Cements ground in Tirunelveli on Friday.   -  A. SHAIKMOHIDEEN


B. Aparajith led from the front and guided VB Kanchi Veerans into the playoffs, for the first time in four seasons of the Tamil Nadu Premier League, with a seven-wicket win over Ruby Trichy Warriors in the final league game at the India Cements ground here on Friday.

Veerans will take on third-placed Siechem Madurai Panthers in the eliminator on Sunday.

Chasing a target of 122 on a slow wicket, Aparajith brought his experience into play with an unbeaten 50 (39b, 4x6, 1x4). He was ably supported by S. Lokeshwar who made a crucial 40 with the duo adding 46 runs for the third wicket partnership.

Aparajith took the game deep and launched into pacer Saravana Kumar in the 19th over with one four and two sixes, the second maximum taking him to his half-century.

READ| Chepauk Super Gillies move to second on Vijay Shankar's TNPL debut

Earlier, electing to bat, Warriors managed 121 for seven thanks to valuable knocks from Aditya Ganesh (43) and opener K Mukunth (32) with the duo adding 47-runs for the third wicket.

After losing two early wickets, Mukunth got the innings going with a few boundaries laying a good platform in the PowerPlay.

Aditya — who scored a half-century in the last match — continued his good form playing smart cricket. The left-hander used his feet well against the left-arm spinners, picking the extra cover boundary regularly with two fours and a six, before he was caught at long-on.

While the Veerans' bowlers were disciplined, Warriors also gifted three run-outs.

Brief scores: Ruby Trichy Warriors 121 for seven in 20 overs (Aditya Ganesh 43, K. Mukunth 32) lost to VB Kanchi Veerans 122 for three in 19.1 overs (B. Aparajith 50 n.o., S. Lokeshwar 40).

Playoffs, August 11: Qualifier 1: Dindigul Dragons vs Chepauk Super Gillies; Eliminator: Siechem Madurai Panthers vs VB Kanchi Veerans

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :